Ipad + ie8

Discussion in 'iPad' started by dvamv, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. dvamv macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    #1
    Hi

    Is there any way on ipad (browser or ext.) to see pages that support ie8?? (I need this for ebanking page that supports only ie8+firefox)

    thanks
     
  2. astrorider macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #2
    Atomic browser (and probably other browsers on the app store) lets you specify the user agent of the browser to something like firefox so that your site will believe it's dealing with firefox...however if your site really requires a feature that is in firefox and not in safari it won't magically make safari have that feature.
     
  3. dvamv thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    #3
    Thanks for your reply

    I was try atomic browser but the problem still exist

    Thanks anyway
     
  4. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #4
    Try downloading Skyfire and see if this works. Good luck.
     
  5. 87vert macrumors 6502

    87vert

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #5
    use iCab you can set your browser id to almost anything.
     
  6. dvamv thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    #7
    Unfortunatelly no browser to do my job
    I try icab,atomic,bolt

    Thanks
     
  7. ZZ Bottom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #8
    If they're a very small time bank with outdated site, they may be using directX.
     
  8. kahleeb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    #9
    Sounds like it time to switch to another bank?

    Another idea is to use Mint.com to import your bank accounts and keep track of it from the Mint app or their website.
     
  9. SidBala macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #10
    lol
     
  10. MrWillie macrumors 65816

    MrWillie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Location:
    Starlite Starbrite Trailer Court
    #11
    Time to switch banks. My bank works fine on the iPad.

    Come on people we all know ZZ meant active X.
     
  11. Don Kosak macrumors 6502a

    Don Kosak

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    #12
    Some sites use JavaScript for browser detection. Most of these browsers use the User Agent string to fool websites.

    If the bank uses JavaScript, then alternate browser User Agent strings won't help. JavaScript is buried inside of WebKit in iOS so browsers like iCab and Atomic can't do much about it.
     
  12. ZZ Bottom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Hehe, thanks for pointing that out. I was typing that while watching a movie.
     
  13. Mapmonkey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #14
    We can't all change banks,where I am at the moment all the banks use some sort of windows based security client that needs to be downloaded and installed locally. Not only that but some have USB dongles with certificates as well.
    Browser spoofing won't fix those issues. :(

    I think it will be along time before we can safely use Mac products for any banking site anywhere in the world I.e outside the US.
    Ho hum..
     
  14. Don Kosak macrumors 6502a

    Don Kosak

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    #15
    Yeah, in the US, we're pretty lucky when it comes to banking sites and Apps. A bunch of banks even have custom iOS Apps (like Bank of America).

    In Korea, almost all the banks, and eCommerce sites use Active X Plug-Ins. Things are slowly changing though.
     

Share This Page