iPad is going to SCREAM with iOS4

Discussion in 'iPad' started by AR15MBP, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. AR15MBP macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    After seeing the added speed performance on my iPhone 3GS, I think the iPad is really going to be a burner after the update. The 3GS has a what, 600mhz processor? The A4 in the iPad is most likely clocked higher than the A4 in the iPhone 4, so I'm really looking forward to the update. Now, if we didn't have to wait until "fall". Come on Jobso!
     
  2. CarboysDesire macrumors 6502a

    CarboysDesire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  3. Aduntu macrumors 6502a

    Aduntu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #4
    What makes you think the iPad's A4 is clocked higher than iPhone 4's A4?
     
  4. AR15MBP thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #5
  5. afireintonto macrumors 6502a

    afireintonto

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Portland
    #6
    Man! I cannot wait for ios 4 to drop on the ipad. Hopefully they give us a few extras, kinda like they did at the get go!
     
  6. MRU Suspended

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #7
    ^ I think we will see long awaited apps like stocks & calculator updated to iPad with ios4
     
  7. kilidar macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    #8
    I have been using the iPad constantly since the 27th may, it is great, fast and a pleasure to use, I run backgrounder and usually have Skype, msn, itap rdp session and ministry of sound radio running in the background, I almost don't touch my work laptop anymore as I am able to do most of my work on the laptop via the iPad using rdp, this works great especially when out and about or working from the pub. My only gripe is that when I browse some large web pages or run a game, the memory gets low and sky or itap or radio would close, the 256 mb of ram is simply not enough and that is a shame cause the pad is fantastic.
    I have a 3GS when it was on 3.1.3 it would have 175 mb of ram when you turn it on, since upgrading to ios 4 I noticed that 3GS now has 140 mb of ram available, unlike the iPad, I don't come close to using up all the ram on the iPhone.
    ios 4 on the iPad is going to come at a cost of 35 mb of useable ram I will be very reluctant to upgrade.
     
  8. OGDaniel macrumors 6502a

    OGDaniel

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
  9. newdeal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #10

    Jailbreak it and install the virtual memory hack. It will take care of your running out of memory issues.
     
  10. JulianL macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    Interesting data point but not necessarily 100% transferable to the iPad. Don't forget that the iPad is running 3.2 which already had quite a few of the 4.0 user-visible features included and we have no way of knowing how many internal kernel/OS enhancements might already be in the footprint so it might not be as bad as a 35MB hit and some of that might be offset by better memory management within the OS or the built in apps (yes Safari - I'm talking to you!).

    With 3.2 on the iPad being such a short lived interim release for the iPad then, if I had been in charge of the 3.2 release at Apple, I would have been talking to the 4.0 developers and looking at their builds to get some idea of the likely code expansion for 4.0 and seriously looked at adding some deliberate padding into the 3.2 footprint for release so that (a) all the pre-release performance testing was not only indicative of performance on 3.2 but also for when 4.0 was released, and (b) users didn't see memory issues after an upgrade. Who knows what Apple actually did though.

    - Julian
     
  11. ciaran00 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    #12
    Is this the same off the ispazio repository, or? Can you tell us the package name?
     
  12. kilidar macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    #13
    The pad is jail broken how else would I be running apps in the background. I have been reading on vm, a lot of the feedback I seen implies that it renders the device unsatble with several crashes/ reboots per day. Anyone tried the vm hack with no trouble?
     
  13. ArmCortexA8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    #14
    I have the 64GB iPad and I must say its very snappy considering its running and updated version of the iPhone 3.1 software, which is 3.2. So imagine iOS4 on this beast. Notice how the Voice Recorder, Calculator, and other apps were not included like on the iPhone 4 - apparently Apple were not happy with how they would look on the larger screen and want to rewrite them just for the ipad.
     
  14. newdeal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #15
    ...

    No package name it's two plist files you need to create which makes a dynamic page file which seems to be 64MB in size and increases from there as needed. It works really well for instructions ihow to do it use google i can't remember the site I got the instructions from. Also quit using safari, it stays open in the background for basically no reason and if you use it a lot will eat all your memory. You can either use backgrounder so that it doesn't stay open in the background or you can just use something better like atomic browser. Since safari cant download anything anyway being open all the time is rediculous especially since it will eat more and more memory as you use it more
     
  15. ChocolateApple macrumors 6502

    ChocolateApple

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    Yes, I can't wait. I've always excused the shortcomings mentioned by friends by mentioning the new OS.
     
  16. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #17
    iFxit said that the iPhone 4 uses an A4 chip clocked at 1 GHz just like iPad. But the iPhone A4 has double the RAM, 512MB unlike the iPad that only has 256MB. So the iPhone 4 has the same exact CPU, but with more RAM built in to the A4
     
  17. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #18
    But I've seen reported benchmarks that show the iPad to be notably faster than the iPhone 4.

    Either way, looking very much forward to iOS 4 for the iPad. Works like a charm on my iPhone 3GS.
     
  18. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #19
    Going on 4 weeks now with now trouble, no crashes, no freezes. I could no longer use my iPad without it.
     
  19. steamtoy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #20
    You know what it the only long awaited app?


    iFinder for iOS 4 !

    iPad only! sorry iphone4 users
     
  20. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #21
    iWish

    I'm on the verge of Jailbreaking my iPad and this will stop me in my tracks
     
  21. mox358 macrumors 6502

    mox358

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Location:
    Indiana
    #23
    I hope Apple is taking their time to customize iOS4 for the iPad. On top of hopefully bringing back calculator, stocks, weather, etc... it would be nice if they kept with their motto of "let's redesign it all" for the bigger display.

    I mean imagine iPhone's multitasking, but instead of the iPhone implementation why not use a more Exposé style (kinda like Safari's tabs on iPad) where all the apps pop up on screen. I really hope Apple is thinking about this stuff and really making iOS4 shine for iPad. iOS4 will be good either way, but I'm hoping they really knock this out of the park instead of just porting iPhone features to iPad.

    That being said, I love my iPad and I think features like multitasking will be a lot bigger deal on iPad than iPhone.
     
  22. cmvsm macrumors 6502a

    cmvsm

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    #24
    The focus in the test reporting is the the iPhone 4 received an underclocked A4 chip in order to extend its battery life. So they added the extra RAM to try and make up for the difference. However, in the benchmarking, the RAM did little to overcome the processing speed, and the iPad smoked it...:D
     
  23. BaronStein macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    NY
    #25
    What if they did not just because there are millions of better alternatives to them for free?
     

Share This Page