iPad memory sufficient?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Jackintosh, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. Jackintosh macrumors 6502a

    Jackintosh

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    The current iPad is configured with only 256mb of memory. I'm confused why this is enough memory to browse the web, while in reading the Mac Mini forums anything less than 2gb memory for the Mini is considered a performance degradation. Could they be talking about heavier duty Mac OS X apps in needing 2gb rather than for web browsing?
     
  2. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #2
    Different hardware (CPU and Mobo) and different OS.

    Can't compare the two.
     
  3. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    iOS is not as intensive as Mac OS X. iOS is a mobile OS, Mac OS X is desktop.
     
  4. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  5. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    There's really only one shortcoming of the ipad: That it doesn't have its own retina display. Granted it'll be a little bit before retina displays big enough for the ipad will even be available commercially.... and that's only a problem of contrast. Contrast to my iPhone 4's screen, which is the shiznat.

    Memory-wise and performance-wise, its fine. Awesome in fact. Totally redefines being able to browse the web on your couch in comfort. I prefer using it to browse the web over my macbook pro. And don't get me wrong, the screen is very nice. I can see pixels though, and my iPhone 4 is spoiling me more and more every day.
     
  6. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #6
    Didn't we go through this dance about the iPad memory 2 or 3 weeks ago? Doesn't MacRumors have a search function built in?
     
  7. Jackintosh thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jackintosh

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    Sorry for not following the "rules". Slap my hand with a ruler.
     
  8. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #8
    Not an issue of rules. There is a serious thread that covered this issue. It has a ton of info in it regarding the memory issue with the iPad, good and bad. It is more helpful than starting a new thread.
     
  9. Alvi macrumors 65816

    Alvi

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Location:
    Mars
    #9
    That is a computer, the iPad is a device or something, the iPhone and iPad has proven that most OS's really use crazy amounts of RAM that these devices don't, the iPad actually works quite nicely with what it has now

    You can't compare it with the Mac Mini, all i can say is that you'll have a better experience on the iPad with 256MB of ram than on the Mini with 2GB of ram , the iPad just uses it very smartly
     
  10. Jackintosh thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jackintosh

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    Perhaps so. In the meantime, other members were patient and good enough to answer my simple question.
     
  11. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #11
    Fair enough. If they have the time to go over something that has been discussed many times over, they are truly the saints of this forum. Personally I would rather find info that is already posted and not take up space by starting repeat threads.

    With that I will bid a fond adieu. Start as many repeat threads that you desire.
     
  12. thatisme macrumors 6502

    thatisme

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #12
    IMO, no, it doesn't have enough memory. Sure, it runs apps fine with nary a stutter. However, where it needs it is for browsing Cache. I am running across increasingly more sites where not all images will load, resulting in the question-n-a-box icons.

    Either they need to add more memory, or allow caching from your normal storage space in the form of virtual ram.
     
  13. yoavcs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Israel
    #13
    The iPad is great for browsing as long as you are a 'browse one page at a time' type of person.

    I tend to browse a site like MacRumors by skimming the titles of articles on the first page and then firing off a rapid succession of background tabs. The idea being that while I am reading news item #1, items #2-11 load in background tabs and await me.

    Seeing as how Safari on the iPad is extremely limited in terms of caching, this is impossible to do. It can be done with 3rd party browser, unfortunately their UI is too lacking for my taste.

    In the end it boils down to: I'm using my iPad less and less and less with each passing day and using my MacBook more and more.

    The iPad has great potential, but it's a half-cooked device in many respects. If/when Apple decide they feel like focusing on it again and releasing improved software I'll revisit it. For now, it's seeing more and more of the inside of my desk drawer.
     
  14. newdeal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #14
    ...

    Jailbreak and do the virtual memory hack. Then get atomic browser and the iPad does awesome on multiple pages. Jailbroken iPad is key with it you get much more functionality
     
  15. mgamber macrumors 6502a

    mgamber

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    1966
    #15
    Yeah, this works great and there's NO drawback worth even discussing as far as how it effects memory. It doesn't pound on it, memory life is pretty long these days and given the attention span of most people, the iPad will be in the trash years before it's memory started becoming faulty from use. Even Safari is a LOT better after doing the VM hack.
     
  16. shellbryson macrumors 6502

    shellbryson

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #16
    256Mb is plenty. Remember the games we used to be able to play on PCs with THAT MUCH memory :D Okay that's going back a bit, but I really think 256Mb is just fine.
     
  17. wyneken macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    The great State of Maine
    #17
    Have you tried iCab? To me, this feels more like a desktop/laptop browser than anything else on the iPad, it has a nice clean UI, it supports plugins or "modules," it enables direct downloading from the web ... and it handles background tabs smoothly and rapidly. I've replaced Safari in the dock with this and seldom use anything else.

    Your point that the iPad still seems "half baked" in some ways is well taken -- it's a 1st gen device that will keep getting better with time.
     
  18. newdeal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #18
    ...

    Icab is good but I prefer atomic simply because the menubar in icab is way too big. It takes up too much of the screen in landscape if you have the tab bar activated. Atomic doesn't take up nearly so much space because it doesn't have the webpage name displayed above the address bar.
     
  19. Slip Jigs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #19
    Then why didn't you give us a link?

    Everyone knows that search functions of message boards are horrible. I will search, using the best terms, and rarely get anything relevant in the first page of results.
     
  20. alex2792 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #20
    No it doesn't have enough ram, in fact safari is pretty much unusable due to constant reloading and the only way to fix the problem is to jailbreak and enable virtual memory.
     
  21. Don Kosak macrumors 6502a

    Don Kosak

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    #21
    Wow. Not my experience at all. Safari works great, and in fact, loads pages as fast, or faster than my MacBook. Reloading happens very infrequently -- mostly on pages that have NO_CACHE directives set or an advertisement that uses javascript to autorefresh.

    Absolutely no issues with the way Safari works at all.
     

Share This Page