iPad or Macbook air?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by madsilencerr, Sep 6, 2012.

1. madsilencerr macrumors member

Hello! This is my first topic in MacRumors and i really want help. So, i have a Mac mini mid-2010 2.4ghz with 4 gb ram and the perfomance is more than enough for me. (i am a student, mostly internet use, iWork, iLife, Gimp,blogging,video editing and some xCode). The thing is that i want something portable now. My school gives 20% off the ipad price and no discount for the macbook air. I want to use it for iwork,ilife,internet,youtube,social and blogging. ( video editing would be also good but not necessary)

2. Frosties macrumors 6502a

Frosties

wait for what's coming on the 12'th then you have better choices. An iPad can do pretty much these days but I like my real keyboard and better multitasking on a computer but then I don't have an iPad myself just used one, yet...

3. madsilencerr thread starter macrumors member

So you think that the upcoming apple event may bring more devices than just the iPhone 5?

4. CoMoMacUser macrumors 6502a

One consideration is whether you're going to use the device more for content creation than content consumption. If it's creation -- typing papers, editing videos, etc. -- then you're better off with an MBA because typing on glass sucks and because Office-style suites have some major drawbacks. For example, I've been using Quickoffice for more than two years, and it frequently has problems with Word docs longer than a few pages.

I bought a 2012 MBA because the iPad has so many drawbacks and limitations as a content-creation device. I now use my iPad only for checking email, browsing and the handful of apps that I find useful.

I hope that helps.

5. madsilencerr thread starter macrumors member

Thank you really much for your help! I think i am going with the macbook air.

6. curmudgeon32 macrumors regular