iPad Pro iPad Pro and College?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by gobikerider, Jun 10, 2017.

  1. gobikerider macrumors 68000

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    I am going to be majoring in MIS or "management information systems". How feasible will the iPad Pro be in college during classes, will I be expected to have a laptop to do coding and what not, or will my desktop at home suffice for all that. I guess my question is would I be caught off guard during a college class because all of a sudden we will be coding or something and I wont have a device that would do that? Or is it more likely we would do that in a lab that has a computer for each student already, a "test" machine if you will?
     
  2. SparklyPickle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    #2
    That is a very interesting question and your major sounds fascinating!

    I hope someone will answer soon enough!
     
  3. gobikerider thread starter macrumors 68000

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I kept thinking and realized a solid Remote Desktop app easily answers my question. I have no reason not to get a new iPad now :D
     
  4. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    Yeah,remote desktop is a great idea. Takes some costs to run over internet,if the iPad and the laptop is not on same wifi network.
     
  5. gobikerider thread starter macrumors 68000

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    Really, would it lag awfully if say my desktop is across town and I'm in class, but both iPad and desktop connected to fast networks albeit different ones
     
  6. jortbru1299 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #6
    This is my use case as well - same major, too. I bought a 12.9 knowing that all the labs already have computers, and the iPP is useful for notetaking in classes that aren't code-based.
     
  7. gobikerider thread starter macrumors 68000

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    So you haven't had any issues with bringing only the iPad Pro to class then?
     
  8. Stefan johansson macrumors 65816

    Stefan johansson

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    The iPad Pro with good internet connection would most likely run smoothly. I used Remote Desktop on my home network,my iPad Air 2 lags a bit,because it's a bit slower than my Mac,but with the pro,you should not see any significant lag.
     
  9. jortbru1299 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #9
    Yep - I'm only going full-time college next year (part-time this year) but my school had computers that you were expected to use.
     
  10. gobikerider thread starter macrumors 68000

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #10
    I'm just curious why would the hardware itself be such a large impact on the smoothness of a Remote Desktop session, isn't it primarily relying on the fast internet connection. What role does the physical hardware of the iPad or any computer have in the Remote Desktop connection other than the "streaming" of that other client.
     
  11. HengenJL macrumors 6502a

    HengenJL

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #11
    I currently have the 12.9" Pro and used VNC Viewer this past semester to remotely connect to a MacBook 12" and a Windows 10 developer desktop. There was some lag but not enough to cause any issues. I just leave the VNC program running on my MacBook and Win10 computers, then if I need to access them just start the VNC Viewer app on my iPad. As for going through your major with an iPad, I would highly suggest you talk with the head of the department for your major and ask them if having a laptop is a program requirement or if they know of anyone who just carries and iPad.
     
  12. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #12
    I'm not a student, but I'm very interested in this discussion. Will definitely follow along and chip in info when I can add value to the discussion.

    Good stuff!
     
  13. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #13
    You need to also consider that many programs designed for mouse and keyboard use may be difficult to manage remotely with a touch screen.
     
  14. gobikerider thread starter macrumors 68000

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #14
    There is a mouse that you can get for Remote Desktop
     
  15. DNichter macrumors 68040

    DNichter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #15
    I would say no for college use. You really never know what apps/systems you'll need and the mac will be more flexible. I suggest a MacBook.
     
  16. gobikerider thread starter macrumors 68000

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #16
    (Pro)
     
  17. daflake macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #17
    While it can be done, it may be burdensome. I would also recommend a regular laptop over a tablet for this. That being said, there may be days that a tablet will be all you need.
     

Share This Page