iPad Pro is very slow for me

Discussion in 'iPad' started by sdz, Aug 28, 2016.

  1. sdz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Europe/Germany
    #1
    I am outperforming iPad iOS with my user inputs.

    It constantly laggs behind my inputs. Best example: CMD+TAB switching.

    Very bad keyboard experience. Hopefully they solve this in iOS 10!
     
  2. Rok73 macrumors 65816

    Rok73

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #2
    I am almost certain that this is not an iOS 9 issue because keyboards work absolutely fine for lots of people.

    There is also much, much information missing here. Which keyboard? What does "user inputs" mean exactly? Any special apps with that issue? Tried a restart/hard reset? Tried to backup the iPad and restore it/set it up as new?
     
  3. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #3
    I've had the iPad Pro since November and I've never had the display lag behind while typing.

    What version of iOS are you on? What apps are you having trouble with? Which keyboard?
     
  4. sdz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Europe/Germany
    #4
    I use the Apple Smart Keyboard.

    Does it happen to you, that if you switch between Apps with CMD+Tab and you go for example "tab tab tab (3rd app)" that the Tab Switcher just disappears without switching to the particular app?
     
  5. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #5
    Works just fine for me. Just tried it.
     
  6. kemperman macrumors regular

    kemperman

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Wwhen was the last time you did a soft reset (holding home & sleep/wake until you see the apple logo) or rebooted? Clearing the cache should be the first port of call for troubleshooting
     
  7. sdz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Europe/Germany
    #7
    Okay, I think there was no help anyway so I purged all settings (leaving just content).
    Now it seems to work better and also solved some other issues like AirDrop did not notify me for incoming files and I received no notifcation sounds.

    Apple should spend more time in Software QA.
     
  8. RudySnow macrumors regular

    RudySnow

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    #8
    Apple's fault. Love it.
     
  9. sdz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Europe/Germany
  10. RudySnow macrumors regular

    RudySnow

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    #10
  11. Rok73 macrumors 65816

    Rok73

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #11
    There are literally millions of people for whom the named software aka iOS does what it's supposed to. Seamlessly. I am one of those. If you really think that Apple should spend more money on QA then I'll tell you the following:

    When you're expecting that any software issues solve themselves without even doing a proper trouble shooting or trying the lots of suggestions in this thread by yourself then I have to my ask myself if you've ever used ANY device that runs software like a Windows PC, a Mac, a Smart TV, you name it.

    I am not saying that iOS or macOS or Windows or whatever is completely free of issues, actually no software in the world is. What I can still say is that - in my estimation - 80% of issues with software are self-made, a user problem, be it through lack of maintenance or lack of knowledge. Let that sink in.

    I am also not implying that every single user has to be an IT god but I would expect EVERYone to try the easiest of solutions like a restart or a soft reset.
     
  12. sdz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Europe/Germany
    #12
    What on gods earth should I troubleshoot on a locked down operating system like iOS. You must be joking.
    I believe you are the kind of "Expert" advising to reset PRAM on Macs - lol
     
  13. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #13
    Apparently "Reset All Settings" would be a good place to start. ;)

    In all fairness, that's been one of the suggested places to start troubleshooting for odd iOS issues for several years (at least here on MacRumors). The fact that it hasn't hit the "repair your permissions" or "reset your PRAM" notoriety level may speak to how infrequently people run into this issue, which IMO says something about Apple's iOS QA.
     
  14. sdz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Europe/Germany
    #14
    And HOW is that a troubleshoot? Yes, the original trouble is gone but then I introduced 10 different troubles: Where are my passwords? Why is that Wifi not working anymore ? Where is my wallpaper? Why is every app downloading again from iCloud and I am at customer's site with weak cellular connectivity? Why is it suddenly showing embarassing Twitter notifications of my troll account?

    Sorry, that is not the way I troubleshoot in my profession.
     
  15. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #15
    I guess we could all compare professions (and the difference in troubleshooting between them), but in mine, I'd never press a button that says "Reset All Settings" without understanding what that actually means, especially if I was at a client's site.

    I don't disagree with you about iOS troubleshooting options being frustratingly limited. My point was simply that (based on the frequency of forum posts I've seen here over the years) there doesn't seem to be a lot people who have to use the "Reset All Settings" option, so I thought your QA comment was odd (like you somehow expected Apple's QA to literally catch every obscure issue).
     
  16. Rok73 macrumors 65816

    Rok73

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #16
    Your replies clearly show your lack of knowledge about iOS as well as your unwillingness to acquire said knowledge.

    I admit that iOS' development over the years changed it from a quite self-explaining OS to an OS as complex as others. It's not that you see or find any function or setting immediately as it was in the first iterations of iOS. Which means that you have to grapple more with system related topics.

    If that is too much for you, change to Android, Windows or whatever and see for yourself if it suits your needs better without willing to calculate any informations about the operation and maintenance of said systems. Have fun.
     
  17. Videomanmac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    #17
    You need to buy a new one.

    It is obviously Apple trying to slow down your iPad to try to get you to buy a new one- before a 2nd gen iPad Pro is out!
     
  18. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #18
    Smart keyboard needs an Esc key. It be nice to be in a ssh session and be able to edit something in "vi" without having to press the on screen Esc key to switch into command mode.
     
  19. temna macrumors 6502a

    temna

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #19
    Any computer, don't care who makes it, the first step in troubleshooting it is to restart it. Even my daughter knows that!
     
  20. sdz thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Europe/Germany
    #20
    So you also restart a "server" to fix something? You must be a professional. haha.
     
  21. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #21
    CTRL + ] is your friend but it's a helluva bit of muscle memory to break and winds me up. Smart Keyboard is fantastic, apart from this.
     
  22. masotime macrumors 68000

    masotime

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #22
    While I am in the middle regarding the whole "Software QA" thing going on in this thread, the most obvious approach would have been to restart it. "Reset All Settinges" is an extreme approach IMO - you are not simply resetting the transient state, but all your persistent customized settings as well.

    As for the "professional" remark - this is the nature of all software - the more state you maintain, the more difficult it is to ensure there is a cleanup / undo path for unexpected / undesirable branching in code paths over time. It's not an excuse for poor QA, but no piece of software of any significant complexity has ever been completely bug free, be it Windows, OSX, Android etc.

    This is why restarting works, because it brings the operating system's transient memory back to a more determinate state. It's the obvious solution to anyone who understands how software works. There's nothing "unprofessional" about it, but admittedly it is not an ideal solution.
     
  23. Michael Goff Suspended

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #23
    Does anyone remember the good old days when people came here to get help with something as opposed to just ranting?
     
  24. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #24
    Are you under the impression that servers don't get restarted to fix (or rather paper over) these kinds of issues? They most certainly do.

    Most servers are running one or more applications as their primary purpose and if these malfunction then obviously it's generally the first port of call to just restart the app (when other troubleshooting avenues have been exhausted such as checking logs, talking to the vendor etc.) but if it's the OS itself that has an issue, yes, servers get restarted. Generally it'll be at a time that has the least or no impact to the consumers of the service. If any downtime is unpalatable then typically they will get clustered and the clusters will be split and restarted node by node. But servers, Windows and Linux, do sometimes require a restart.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 30, 2016 ---
    No. Must've been before my time :p
     
  25. Michael Goff Suspended

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #25
    Yeah. It was within the last year or year and a half that MacRumors took a real sharp turn to the negative. I don't know what happened.
     

Share This Page