ipad pro (vmware horizon) & mouse

Discussion in 'iPad' started by MotionxxUSxx, Jun 7, 2017.

  1. MotionxxUSxx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #1
    So I'm going to purchase the new ipad pro 10.5 and use the vmware horizon vdi app. Since my job is going to VDI, i can now use the ipad pro to do some work when I dont have my laptop or when I travel. From a bunch of research it seems the vdi app now allows you to use a mouse on the ipad pro when connecting through VDI. From my understanding it only supports the swiftpoint gt mouse. I have seen that jumpstart suppports both the swiftpoint gt mouse and the citrix x1 mouse. Any chance someone can confirm whether vmware horizon also supports the citrix x1 mouse. There seems to be conflicting info out there. The citrix x1 mouse is way cheaper and more of a standard mouse.
     
  2. Mcdevidr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    #2
    Don't like the swiftpoint? I have used both mice with jump Remote Desktop not the program you mention. The swiftpoint is actually superior in jump and Splashtop as far as accuracy and cursor movement.
     
  3. sracer macrumors 604

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    in exile
    #3
    On my 12.9 Pro, there is no option to activate the Citrix X1 mouse in VMWare Horizon. If it did, that would be killer. Works great in Jump Desktop.

    Sorry, (obviously a matter of personal preference) but the Swiftpoint is goofy. :) I heavily use the X1 with Jump and have not experienced any issues with accuracy or cursor movement.
     
  4. MotionxxUSxx thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #4
    I've never tried the swiftpopint, looks interesting. The main reason I wanted to use the citrix x1 mouse in vmware comes down to cost. $150 is excessive for a mouse, but looks to be my only choice. With my luck, vmware will release support for the citrix x1 after I purchase the swiftpoint.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 7, 2017 ---
    my other plan was to use jumpstart to access my home mac which I could than launch vdi. Probably too much overhead.
     
  5. 370zulu macrumors regular

    370zulu

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #5
    I’m getting ready to do the same thing. VMware Horizon with iPad Pro 12.9 and Logitech Slim Combo. Has there been any changes since the release of iOS 11 where compatibility with the Swiftpoint GT is concerned?
     
  6. 370zulu macrumors regular

    370zulu

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #6
    I’m just going to take a chance. I went ahead and ordered the Switftpoint GT from Amazon.
     
  7. Herro177 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    #7
    Am I reading this correctly?? Can you use a mouse with iPad pro? I use my iPad pro with keyboard remote desktop often and would like to use a mouse with it.
     
  8. 370zulu macrumors regular

    370zulu

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #8
    I didn’t believe it when I read it the first time. But, there are caveats.

    1. Only specific mice work. Citrix Mouse and Swiftpoint GT fromwhat I have read.

    2. They only work in certain apps. VMware Horizon (View / VDI) and Citrix for the Citrix mouse.

    I just purchased the Swiftpoint GT and confirm it does work great with iPad Pro 12.9 2017 (iOS 11.2.6) and VMware Horizon.
     
  9. sracer macrumors 604

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    in exile
    #9
    The Citrix X1 and SwiftPoint GT both work with Jump Desktop. I use Jump Desktop and the Citrix X1 and it works great. Interestingly, I cannot get the X1 to work with VMWare Horizon (I may need to try that again).

    For anyone interested in further reading, here's a lengthy thread where we describe this in greater detail:
    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...r-citrix-x1-mouse-no-need-for-laptop.1959404/
     
  10. 370zulu macrumors regular

    370zulu

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #10
    This is good to know on Jump Desktop. Do you know of any other apps that mice work with? I just read the post and it looks like Splashtop also works.
     
  11. Herro177 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    #11
    Don't like how jump desktop does not scale the resolution to fit ipad. Only allows you to zoom or fit to iPad screen but friken in using a 4k monitor. Ugh
     

Share This Page