iPad replace student laptop?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by AssertiveBard, Nov 21, 2010.

1. AssertiveBard macrumors newbie

I'm sure you all get these questions all too often, but here it is again. I am a freshman in college, I have a first gen. MacBook Air. I love it, but if I can sell it and get an iPad instead, I would. I have done a bit of research on the topic.

I have found some concerns being that the iPad can't multitask, sync with printers, and does not always export Pages (does Pages on iPad have a word count?) docs. correctly. Are these true?

I don't use CD's, so that won't be a problem. A list of things I would use it for are as follows:

1. Printing
    2. Typing up docs.
    3. Doing research for papers
    4. Note taking (are there any good apps for this function? I use Evernote on my Air)

Please let me know if I am wrong about anything I have listed. I want to look at this in an unbiased way.

2. mrt209 macrumors 6502

Nah... maybe the next iPad though. I'd recommend you save up for the current Air. You'd have to carry around your iPad and a keyboard plus you don't wanna do all your research on your iPad ;)

3. jdcell100 macrumors regular

4. mrt209 macrumors 6502

He will be sorry if he expects to do the research for and write 10 page research papers on the iPad. I love the iPad, but it's not yet suited for this.

5. Full of Win macrumors 68030

Full of Win

Even with the update, its still not ideal for a student for their primetime machine.

Where to begin? Limited printer support and lack of USB drive support are two issues. Sure you can use Cloud storage...until you are in a place with no Wi-Fi 3G coverage. Also, people expect the ease of a thumb drive at schools to exchange information (e.g. a professor ask you to load your presentation on the computer, and you are SOL). For all of our advances in online storage, its been my experience that many schools still use a sneaker-net as a major conduit of information.