iPad says AT&T 3G but I never signed up

Discussion in 'iPad' started by macswitcha2, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. macswitcha2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #1
    I have the 3g version of iPad but never signed up for any of the 3G service. Why is it showing 3G, shouldn't it be showing my wifi network I have at home?
     
  2. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Not sure as I do not own the 3G version; but, why not check under settings to see if it displays any sort of AT&T acct info?
     
  3. macswitcha2 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #3
    The weird thing is that it shows 3G yet its disconnected from the internet.

    Ok, I turned off Cellular data and now its only connected to my home wifi.

    But why would it read 3g in the first place?
     
  4. ryan0402 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    #4
    when you disconnect from the internet and go 3g can you connect to the internet?
     
  5. RRmalvado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #5
    This... and why didn't you just get the wifi iPad?
     
  6. ovrlrd macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #6
    3G is turned on by default, so that you can enable your 3G data account if you wish. Just because you see it say AT&T 3G and it shows you have a signal, doesn't mean you have a 3G data account activated and would be able to access wireless internet (non-WiFi), and having it on will not change your ability to use Wi-Fi at all, but it will impact battery life. It is on by default so that it is "ready" for when you activate your account if you want.

    You can leave it turned on and still use Wi-Fi at the same time, but it will impact battery life by leaving it on. You simply go into settings and turn off 3G and the "bars" and AT&T 3G will go away from the status bar at the top.
     
  7. SVT Amateur macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tyler, Texas
    #7
    This. Although I don't believe I see much battery drain from leaving 3G on (I leave mine on at all times, even when at home on WiFi). Of course if you don't plan on using 3G then just turn it off as there is no reason to leave it on.
     
  8. Ciclismo macrumors 6502a

    Ciclismo

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    It will have small impact on battery life as every cellular device constantly calls out to see if there is a cell tower nearby and then gauges signal strength on the resulting reply.

    Edit: this is why it is dangerous to have a cellphone on in wartime - you don't need to be making a call for the phone to be detected and have a missile launched at it.
     
  9. ny2nctova macrumors member

    ny2nctova

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #9
    When i bought the iPad i asked the same thing and i found out that; it says it if you cellular data on even without signing up for a plan. Dont worry wont charge you.
     
  10. bigddybn macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #10
    Other than the small battery hit for keeping the receiver of the cell radio active this post is 100% total BS.
     
  11. WLS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #11
    I have a reason to leave it on. If it is stolen you can use mobile me to track it even if there is no wifi available nearby. Seems like a good reason to me.
     
  12. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    That is assuming you have a 3G plan enabled.... for someone who doesn't that won't help.
     

Share This Page