IPad sim-locked?

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by kellanved, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. kellanved, Dec 22, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2010

    kellanved macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    #1
    Hi,
    this is my very first post on this forum, so first thing first : hi :)

    Background - I am traveling between Europe and the US a lot and wanted to pick up an ipad 3G. However, at the apple store, hey told me that the ipad 3g is:
    a) SIM locked and
    b) uses normal-size SIM cards

    Now I'm unsure. I want to use the ipad on both sides of the pond. I know that the micro-SIM ipad is not locked (or used to be unlocked). However, the people at the mac store got me confused. Is there now an ipad that uses normal SIM cards instead of micro-SIMs? And if so, is it SIM locked?

    Thanks,
    ~H
     
  2. seajay96 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #2
    Whoever told you that is wrong on both accounts. All 3g iPads are unlocked, use micro-sims, and work great on both sides of the pond.
     
  3. code2006, Dec 26, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2010

    code2006 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #3
    are u sure they r unlocked?
    i just got a new one from t-mobile and i can only use a t-mobile sim
    i had cut down my 3 network sim as i have a mobile internet contract with them and it wont work on my ipad 3g ( no signal)
    but i have cut down a pay as yo go t-mobile sim and i get signal
    havent tryed any other sims but i think with the new os 4.2.1 they have put a lock on if u bought it a network provider like t-mobile
    will try my sim in my sis t-mobile ipad 3g as well and report back

    quick update
    just tryed my 3 network mobile internet sim and my iphone 4 vodaphone sim in my sis t-mobile ipad 3g and i get no signal
    when i connect it to itunes it says
    the sim card inserted in this ipad does not appear to be supported
    Only compatible sim cards from a supported carrier my be used to activate ipad. please insert the sim that came with your ipad or visit a supported carrier's store to receive a replacement sim card.
    now the ipad works with her t-mobile sim so the ipad must be activated so not sure if they r locked to the network u buy the ipad from ect
     
  4. bafonso macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #4
    I know of no iPad being sold sim-locked. From the UK apple store page

    "Can I use my iPad while travelling outside the country?
    You can connect to Wi-Fi networks in many places around the world. Check with your carrier about connecting to 3G networks outside your home country, as additional charges may apply. Or you can purchase a micro-SIM card from a carrier at your destination and choose a new data plan to connect to a 3G network there."

    I'm using my american iPad in Portugal currently with a microSim that comes in an USB Pen so it's unlocked for sure as I use it in US with at&t.

    Are you sure you are not getting signal? or may have to configure the settings for each network such as APN, user and password. It's not normally just plug n' play :( you can easily google for the settings for each provider. Also, where are you located? that will help
     
  5. code2006, Dec 27, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010

    code2006 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #5
    im located in the uk
    does you ipad have 4.2.1?
    i havent tryed any APN settings as the ipad should auto download them settings when connecting to itunes but will have a quick search on google
    so its berst buying one from apple or a retailer than from a network provider

    update

    tryed a few diffrent apn settings for three and nothink
    it keeps coming up sim faliure
    it has to be locked as when i put a pay as you go t-mobile sim in i get network
    i think i will have to wait for some sort of hack ect
    thanks
     
  6. seajay96 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #6
    Go to T-Mobile and ask them. They were advertised as unlocked from the start and a major change like this would have had the blogosphere on fire.

    I've used my US iPad on 3, T-Mobile, Orange and AT&T since the 4.2.1 update with no problems.
     
  7. declandio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    T-Mobile sell them subsidised for £199 if you sign up to a contract. Those ones are probably 'locked'.

    http://www.t-mobile.co.uk/shop/ipad/buy-now/
     
  8. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #8
    Yeah I was just thinking that, some are sold on contract now and may be locked.

    Unfortunately everyone just went to 4.2.1 and updated their baseband to 7.x too before we realized this. If we hadn't it is very possible we could have unlocked those with existing unlocks given they use iPad baseband for some anyway.
     
  9. code2006 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #9
    yer mine is a t-mobile contract . i wanted to get one with three but they didnt have any.
    also my baseband is 7.x something and the ipad came with 4.2.1 :(
    o well its not a major problem
    thanks
     

Share This Page