Ipad SSD

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Runcore, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. Runcore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #1
    Does anyone have images and or specs of the SSD inside the Ipad?

    If so please share.

    Matt Dawson
    Runcore
     
  2. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #2
    Isn't it more likely to be soldered on board rather than use a SSD?
     
  3. mojohanna macrumors 6502a

    mojohanna

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #3
    Its flash storage just like in the iphone and touch. Its not an SSD.
     
  4. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #4
    I would assume the same. As it's basically just an overgrown iPod touch, it's likely just individual Flash RAM chips soldered to the board.
     
  5. nj-mac-user macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    And the simple fact that the highest end model maxes out at only 64GB just like the highest end ipod touch all but confirms it's flash just like the touch.
     
  6. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #6
    I think it was announced that it is indeed NAND flash memory, and I BELIEVE (meaning it's my opinion based on Apple's strategy and shown in iPhone) it will definitely be soldered to the board. What a great idea though. Would be incredible for Runcore to offer the first upgrade solution for the iPad with a faster SSD. It's too bad that I doubt it will come to fruition.

    I hope I am really wrong and there's a simple 1.8" SATA-II SSD in the iPad. If we could upgrade it to the Runcore, WOW! That would make the iPad experience even better! I definitely would upgrade myself if Runcore could make it possible! If it did anything like the Runcore has done for the MBA, what a dream. I guess we will see in time. It sure would be nice if Apple had sent an iPad to iFixIt.com for a teardown video. I know, that's dreaming.
     
  7. nj-mac-user macrumors 6502

    nj-mac-user

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    The only thing is (at least based on all the videos) the iPad doesn't appear to be lacking in terms of speed with it's current configuration. If the user experience is anything like that of the ipod touch (which it appears to be) speed won't really be an issue.
     
  8. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #8
    We haven't seen it running actually demanding apps though. We don't know how long it takes to boot. We don't know if iTunes will instantly open or bounce 15 times. We don't know if office apps will lag. We definitely know the video seems to be fine on it. But we don't know how certain other things will do with the current configuration. It is definitely going to take some hands on to figure these things out.

    I do agree, what we see Apple showing us looks great, but Apple isn't showing us the truth in its videos about the Internet. It may have made up static pages that would load quick for us to see. They do use tricks and gimmicks in promotional videos... it seems like it swapped out real Flash with a screenshot and etc. As originally Apple showed us videos that included Flash when Flash doesn't even work on the iPad. I don't think that Apple would show us the bad parts in a promotional video. Until we get it hands on and really apply our uses and determine how we use it in everyday life, we just will not know.

    For me, I just want everything to work as well as is possible. I will pay a premium for the performance I want. I will sell some AAPL every time Apple comes out with a new gadget, and I will sell some more AAPL every time I want to add a component to enhance my Apple products' capabilities. It appears that it is the norm for Apple fans to pay a little more (or a lot more) for the ultimate experience. For me the numbers and differences I could see sold me on the Runcore SSD. I would need to see the same results with the iPad, but if Runcore built an SSD for the iPad I am sure it would have the numbers to support the purchase. I am sure Runcore saw the demand for aftermarket SSDs for the MBA and decided to capitalize on an untapped market... it sure did wonders for the MBA.
     
  9. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #9
    The Wall Street Journal admitted that they made static pages for Apple to use to demo; and Apple has been caught 'speeding up' things for their commercials before. (App load times on the original iPhone, the UK even banned their ads until they showed the real load times.)

    But I have to imagine that the demo Steve gave was real; especially since he showed web pages with 'no plugin' errors. Yeah, he probably chose to display it in the best possible light, but it should be a decent demo of speed.
     
  10. glitch44 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
  11. Runcore thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #11
    I was hoping it was a 50MM or 70MM mSATA PCI-e solution like we already have. I would like to know what SATA controller they are using. If it is a Samsung controller then the Pro IV would have been an amazing upgrade for it.

    I did not realize there was already a Ipad board. Could a mod move this over to the Ipad discussion area?

    Matt
    Runcore
     
  12. bobsentell macrumors 6502a

    bobsentell

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #12
    My question is if the iPad is four times the size of the iPod touch, why does it hanve the same amount of memory? Wouldn't there be room for more or did they fill that space with battery?
     
  13. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    Possibly, but the cost for the increased ram would make it unaffordable and the larger batter would make it heavier. One thing Apple does is make efficient use of space. Once we start seeing the tear down pictures, maybe from ifixit, we'll probably see how little space there really is.
     
  14. miknos macrumors 6502a

    miknos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #14
  15. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #15
    Actually we do know how long it takes to boot. People who got hands on with it have talked about it booting very quickly.
     
  16. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    boot time would be very quick with the A4's onboard memory controller.
     
  17. bobsentell macrumors 6502a

    bobsentell

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #17

    I will say this in Apple's defense and from experience: it is impossible to shoot screens. You will get a distorion of the screen image.

    And yes, Apple will obviously show us the good parts of the product. Could you imagine a Toyota commercial that says: "Best fuel economy of any car in its class. And our gas pedals will kill you!"
     
  18. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #18
    About 11 seconds.
     
  19. bobsentell macrumors 6502a

    bobsentell

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #19
    True. That can any additional chip would increase the load and decrease battery life.

    Which makes me think: when Jobs said they got ten houws out of it, which one? 16GB, 32GB, or 64GB? Wifi or 3G?
     

Share This Page