iPad stuck on apple logo after jailbreak attempt

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by kristiano, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. kristiano macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    #1
    I am using an iPad Wifi that was running on 4.2.1. I jailbroke it a few hours ago using the sn0w tool.

    Everything was working fine and I managed to install Cydia. I then downloaded nomute, which was when the problem started. After downloading nomute successfully, I was prompted to reset my iPad.

    After tapping yes, the iPad turned off.

    Since then, it's been stuck on the screen with the silver apple logo on it.

    I've tried holding the power and home screen button down for up to 10 seconds, and the screen goes black. Pressing the power button again though, causes it to go to the silver apple logo screen where it remains.

    I have no outstanding SDK Updates that need to be downloaded and I have restarted both iTunes and my Mac to no avail.

    My iPad is backed up, but my iTunes cannot recognize it so I cannot initiate it.

    Could someone please help?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Because it is a teathered jailbreak you must rerun redsn0w to rejailbreak your iPad. Put it into DFU mode and tell redsn0w to only jailbreak it. There is no need to restore in iTunes.
     
  3. kristiano thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    #3
    Hm, but when I click "go to DFU mode" in redsn0w, it seems to indicate that the iPad has to turned off?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Ignore what is on the iPad's screen and just put it into DFU mode. Redsn0w will see it's there and rejailbreak it once you tell it to.
     
  5. kristiano thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    #5
    Ok, this is what I've done.

    With the silver apple logo on the iPad screen I have connected the iPad to my MBP and opened redsn0w,

    1) Selected the ipsw file
    2) Selected "just enter pwned DFU mode now"

    However, it just says no device detected :(

    Thanks for your help anyway
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Grab a hold of your iPad as it is trying to restart. Press and hold both the power button at the top and the home button on the front for exactly ten seconds. Then release the power button while continuing to hold the home button for another 15 seconds. Redsn0w will then see the iPad and allow you to rejailbreak it.
     
  7. kristiano thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    #7
    Thank you!

    It works :D
     
  8. poub macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    #8
    I have the same issue. What do you mean by "Redsn0w will then see the iPad". On which screen of the Redsnow sequence should i be so that it can see the ipad rebooting ?
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    Just put the iPad into DFU mode and launch redsn0w and start clicking through it's screens.
     
  10. spedtea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #10
    JB ipad 4.2.1

    I'v been trying to figure out how to jailbreak my ipad, 4.2.1. When I go to the site and go to spirit, it says safari can't download the file. Is it because I have the newer version?
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  12. spedtea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #12
    I finally figred that out, but now I don't know where/what to put the download, says to select the ipsw for your current firmware. No clue on that at all. Is there a step by step for people like me??
     
  13. spedtea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #13
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    I don't think so, Skyfire is only for video. Is the class an Adobe Breeze/Connect class?
     
  15. spedtea, Dec 23, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2010

    spedtea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #15
    I really don't have a clue. It's an online class I teach (Kaplan)that has a remote menu that pops up and requires some type of flash, flash ap maybe for me to enter the class. Any ideas on how to make this happen?? I know we use adobe connect for meetings and real time seminars. But I'd be happy if I could just interact within the class.
     
  16. ihaveaprob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #16
    me too

    redsnow detected me but then it said itunes can now do custom psws and the ipad turned off and wouldn't turn on. i turned itunes on and it said i was in recovery mode and i should restore i tried that then itunes stuffed up. i was downloading the new itunes and that might of been the prob. i am scared to go to apple for a new ipad because they might find out that i have jailborken
     

Share This Page