iPad Wi-Fi survey

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Saberon, Jun 1, 2010.

?

How is your iPad's Wifi ?

  1. Very weak signal

    15 vote(s)
    6.2%
  2. Wi-fi drops and I have to reconnect

    29 vote(s)
    12.0%
  3. Says wifi is connected but I can't access internet

    12 vote(s)
    5.0%
  4. Have to constantly re-enter password for wifi

    10 vote(s)
    4.1%
  5. My iPad had problems with wifi but I exchanged and now it works fine

    2 vote(s)
    0.8%
  6. No issues to report

    173 vote(s)
    71.8%
  1. Saberon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    Just fill out the poll and comment only if you wish to

    Thanks
     
  2. gavd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #2
    Same as my iPhone and that of my wife - devices say they are connected, but every now and again it won't connect to the net. I have the latest firmware for my router (Belkin) so can't do anything there. I'm going to try static IP addresses and see if that makes a difference.
     
  3. StopSign24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #3
    I haven't had any issues with mine. I used to lose internet all the time, but it was happening on my MBP as well, so I went and got a new router and now it works fine. I'm using a Netgear Wireless N router, not gigabit, if that helps.
     
  4. dagomike macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #4
    Either the 802.11N or 5 GHz band seems an issue. I just use 2.4 GHz 802.11G and things seem fine.
     
  5. DopeyFish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #5
    Mine constantly drops but it auto reconnects - using WPA2 over wireless N
     
  6. theman510 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    Once I unlock my iPad, I have about 2 minutes where I can use wi-fi with no problem. Then I'll lose it and have to go into settings and re-connect. I usually don't have to re-enter my password, just click on my wifi name. It's pretty annoying. I don't get why it works initially and then drops it.
     
  7. DougFNJ macrumors 6502a

    DougFNJ

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    The signal is weaker than my laptop in that aspect that when I am on the 2nd floor of the house I have fewer bars than the 1st floor (Router is in the basement)

    But I have been pretty lucky as far holding a signal.
     
  8. Harmush macrumors 6502a

    Harmush

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #8
    My wifi is fine.
    Had ti re enter password about twice. Set a static IP address up on router DHCP settings and it seems fine now. No problems since then.
     
  9. maggie2101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Houston Area, TX USA
    #9
    I've never had any issues at home, but the one time I took it with me to an appointment, it wouldn't connect. This was at a major hospital that I go to frequently and have never had any problem connecting to their network with any other devices such as my iPhone...puzzling.
     
  10. mgipe macrumors demi-god

    mgipe

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    CA
  11. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #11
    One minor issue...
    Mine pops up a "Connecting..." dialog and dims my screen in the middle of whatever I'm doing, most often in Safari. This happens 2 to 3 times in a minute and then doesn't happen again for many hours. Not sure what this means. I have an Airport Extreme.

    Another minor issue...
    From time to time, my iTouch and my iPad say they are connected but cannot get on the net. I have to walk to my Macbook and use Airport Utility to reset my Airport Extreme and then everything works fine again. This happens about once every month or two.

    Needless to say, the survey should have had an "other - explain below" option...
     
  12. Macpowered macrumors member

    Macpowered

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
  13. MacVixen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    #13
    I chose "no issues to report" but that's not exactly true. At home and work can connect to wifi no problem - no issues with connection dropping, etc. However, spent the Memorial Day weekend in a hotel and while my iphone connected to the wifi network there with no problem, the iPad simply would not do it. it found the network, *said* it was connected, but kept getting "you don't have an internet connection" message in Safari. I could never get the authorization page in mobile Safari. My mother also had her iPad and had the same problem with attempting to connect.
    iPhone - no problem
    iPad - no go
    :confused::confused::confused:
     
  14. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #14
    Once in a while I have issues connecting, my wifi just straight up disappears. I just have to reboot, run into the "giant iPod touch" problem, respring, and I'm all set. My router has been updated, etc, I just haven't looked to far into getting it fixed by using a fixed IP or whatever else the "fixes" are :)

    I figure something will be taken care of with whatever new firmwares get released, I'm just waiting for the OSes to be jailbroken first. No rush, I'm still loving iPad
     
  15. VvCompHelpvV macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    #15
    For exactly the first month of my ownserwhip with the ipad I had no problems at all with my wifi. (that sentence just sounds funny, but I'm not going back to correct it) :D

    Anyways, yesterday I tried to connect to my wifi...the wifi icon is up...but my iPad can't connect to the Internet. This sucks so much!

    Well not entirely, Im really happy I bought the 3G model. I have been on 3G for the past 24hours nonstop. (luckily my 3G speed is pretty fast in my location)...


    **now that I look back, I lied about not having any problems. Like 4 days ago, my iPad began having wifi issues. It kept asking for my password and such.

    Well...I'm gonna have to play with my routers settings to see if I can fix my problems.
     
  16. Zazoh macrumors 6502a

    Zazoh

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    Mico, Texas
    #16
    For those with an older router, Apple support tells you how to configure. My wife and I both have iPads and zero problems on a Linksys.
     
  17. Southern Dad macrumors 65816

    Southern Dad

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    #17
    I did learn that if you have a dual channel "N" router, you need to change the name and WEP for one of the channels.
     
  18. xraytech macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #18
    Wow!

    Majority having no issues with WiFi. From reading the threads on MR, you would think the opposite. Goes to show the vocal majority are the whiners. I'm just saying.
     
  19. sheppy1 macrumors 6502a

    sheppy1

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #19
    I have a 2.4GHz wireless g router with WPA2 security and have had no problems so far
     
  20. pondie84 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #20
    Haven't had any problems with the iPad but distinctly remember having an annoying WiFi problem with an older iProduct (iPod touch or iPhone, I can't remember).
     
  21. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #21
    I voted for the top option, for lack of a more suitable option (no offense OP, you can't possibly predict every issue across the world and give an option for it). 3-4 times I've seen my wifi signal go down to 1 bar (or a dot, rather) when it should have been full (ie. I'm 20 feet through a wood door from the router). Wifi gets sluggish, but 99% of the time it's fine, but there is some issue there.
     
  22. MackieMesser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Turkey
    #22
    I've both: reconnecting every now and then (sometimes every 10 minutes, sometimes once an hour) and weak wifi signal (only one bar 6 meters from the router). That happens on "g" and "n" routers from apple (extreme and express), netgear and airties (Turkey). No reconnecting problems so far with linksys routers. All have WPA protection.
    The reconnecting issue is like mentioned above: WiFi signal drops and within seconds the "reconnecting" sign appears twice. Doesn't ask for a password, still is pretty annoying, though. :mad:
    I own a 32 WiFi only iPad btw...
     
  23. gazzrenn macrumors 6502

    gazzrenn

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Blackpool, UK
    #23
    At the office i have no problem. However at home i have to keep entering the password.

    It's a router specific issue.

    Those of you having similar issues should either upgrade your router firmware or swap routers.

    Edit - this is all obviously my opinion only, based on my experience.
     
  24. kaelell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #24
    do you buy chance have a ps3 connected also? I found a conflict there with my iphone previously, both trying to use the same IP everytime. static ip worked eventualy, but not until I disconected everything , reboot & reset all connections and started from scratch.

    Also I had a bit of a conflict when running wireless N & G compatibility mode.
     
  25. jetoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #25
    no wifi issue at all with a linksys WRT54G (old model)

    Also have a d-link access point, no issue at all.
     

Share This Page