iPad WiFi password problem fixed by switching to 128-bit encryption

Discussion in 'iPad' started by PianoBrad, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. PianoBrad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #1
    Upon waking, my iPad would often prompt me to re-enter my WiFi password, or simply say that it wasn't connected to the internet.

    I was using an old D-Link Router with 64-bit WEP encryption. After talking to a senior support tech, I switched the WEP to 128-bit and it's been smooth sailing ever since. (He said he recommends 40-bit or 128-bit, just not 64-bit. Mine doesn't have 40-bit.)

    This is still a bug, because if you're in some random hotel, you can't change the router settings. But this workaround may help until a patch is released.
     
  2. iJason87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #2
    I've had 128 bit since day one and I'm still having issues. Apple senior tech support has been calling me every day since last week trying to help me get this issue fixed and still having issues. I might return mine tomorrow cuz this is getting ridiculous.
     
  3. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #3
    What is it that is making some of the iPad's not work correctly with wireless? I haven't had any problems whatsoever on mine so is it really an issue overall or is it an issue with bad build on a bunch of units but not all.
     
  4. FunkyMonkCP macrumors member

    FunkyMonkCP

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    #4
    As I recommendation, I would switch to WPA or preferably WPA2 using AES for securing your wireless network. WEP can be broken in under 10 minutes using the aircrack-ng suite of tools.
     
  5. iJason87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #5
    did that and still havin issues
     
  6. FunkyMonkCP macrumors member

    FunkyMonkCP

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    #6
    I should have clarified, my recommendation was just in general, not really specific to the problems people are having.
     
  7. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #7
    I setup my network as WPA using TKIP...is that not good? Should I reset it up using AES?
     
  8. wilycoder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #8
    I have the wifi issue.

    I bought an Airport Extreme today and I no longer have any wifi issues (in my home at least)...

    5ghz wireless is NICE :D
     
  9. mj1108 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #9
    I'm wondering if this is coming down to certain models of certain brands of wireless routers that are having issues.

    No problems here so far... *knock on wood*
     
  10. FunkyMonkCP macrumors member

    FunkyMonkCP

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    #10
    There are some known flaws with TKIP and AES is preferable. However TKIP is still not bad at all. It's infinitely more secure than WEP. Using WPA with AES isn't always compatible with older devices.
     
  11. HXGuy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #11
    Im not too concerned about people getting into my iPad on the wireless network (only device I have hooked up wirelessly to an Access Point) but I am concerned about them getting on my desktop.

    The desktop is hardwired to the router. Is it possible to separate the two...so that the wireless AP is not on the same router as the desktop? How would that be done?
     

Share This Page