iPad wireless problems

Discussion in 'iPad' started by elec999, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. elec999 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #1
    I have two iPhones, many wireless devices. All work beautiful with my wireless + SMCD3GN wireless router. iPad is killing me. Wireless either has low signal, connects then low performance. Or just doesnt remember my wireless.
    Really big problem for me.... Anyone experience this.
     
  2. SVT Amateur macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tyler, Texas
    #2
    I've had success in the dropping Wi-Fi signal by upping brightness just a little from the bottom setting and making sure auto-brightness is off. I thougt it was crazy too till someone else mentioned the same remedy and it has worked for me.
     
  3. maestrokev macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Yes, happens with both of my iPads, very annoying, hoping Apple comes out with a firmware fix soon.
     
  4. Figbash Acrobat macrumors 6502a

    Figbash Acrobat

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alphaville
  5. elec999 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #5
    I honestly don't see what the brightness haste do with wifi. Can anyonevexplain?
     
  6. Battlestar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    It doesn't look like the fix will come out until November when iOS 4.x is released for the iPad.
     
  7. iThinman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #7
    Eliminated 95% of my WiFi connection issues by switching my router to 802.11n traffic only.
     
  8. Battlestar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Okay but what if you are using a Public hotspot in a library or somewhere of that nature where you do not have control over the equipment?
     
  9. tuamtuem macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #9
    Me too.
     
  10. DaneGuy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #10
    Same problem here. I'm in an airport and the web is really slow. Same thing in a hotel the other day. Pretty much useless.
     
  11. elec999 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #11
    I hope apple will fix this issue. I cannot switch my router to n only, my iphones won't work anymore
     
  12. maestrokev macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    I have a Time Capsule with separate 2.4 and 5GHz bands. Doesn't help.
     
  13. jimHdk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    #13
    Nope, I haven't had any WiFi problems at home (Netgear WGR614v10 router) or at various WiFi hotspots.
     
  14. DraziGuy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #14
    Mine still regularly forgets the passwords to my networks... It's fun to have to restart it every couple of days in order to browse the net.

    It's weird, because it will load a few web pages, work for a few minutes, and then ask for the password to the network again. And not accept it until it's been restarted.
     
  15. MrWillie macrumors 65816

    MrWillie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Location:
    Starlite Starbrite Trailer Court
    #15
    No problems with wifi for me either, however, macromurs from time to time will slow my browser down. If I close the mr window, all other pages load normally. (fast) I have only noticed this issue with safari and it is not all the time.
     
  16. tibi08 macrumors 6502a

    tibi08

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #16
    My iPad drops the wifi connection all the time. It normally picks it back up again straight away, so you don't notice when web browsing (although sometimes it stalls loading a webpage, and you have to refresh). But on Youtube, it's lucky if you can get through a whole video without the wifi stalling it. And it's not very practical refreshing a video, so I basically can't use Youtube on the iPad.

    I know that Apple have acknowledged the Wifi problem and said an update will be released (at some point), I think it's slightly unfair that the fix is not coming out "within a couple of weeks" like the iPhone update. I don't know if I have a defective unit or if it's just the known issue (especially as Apple have released such few details about the problem they are acknowledging).
     
  17. wrkactjob macrumors 65816

    wrkactjob

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Why does this never happen in Apple stores? The ipads are always so fast and snappy with no wifi issues.
     
  18. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

    likemyorbs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #18
    That's because apple is thinking about convenience for us jailbreakers :p But really it would suck to have them release a fix, having to upgrade and re-jailbreak, and then do it again when iOS 4 is out for the iPad
     
  19. iscripter macrumors member

    iscripter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #19
    Apple's iPad Wifi Fix

    Here is a link to the knowledge base article that lists several work a rounds that can fix your wifi connection problems until Apple comes out with a software fix.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3304

    This is were the adjust screen brightness and turn off auto brightness fix came from. I know it sounds weird but it worked for me. I have also noticed that the Wifi antenna in the iPad is very sensitive.
     
  20. tibi08 macrumors 6502a

    tibi08

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #20
    I'm gonna try all these "fixes" in the next few hours..... will report back!
     
  21. elec999 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #21
    I have tried the fix to turn off the 40mhz band of my router and play eiththe brightness.
    The most enjoying thing is pickup the iPad after its bee charging or idle and threes no wifi. It won't save my wifi settings. I need to retype it every time :(
     
  22. tibi08 macrumors 6502a

    tibi08

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #22
    I unchecked the "auto brightness" (it wasn't set to the lowest brightness) and haven't had any problems for several hours now. I still think that the Youtube app video cashing isn't very good:- once you reach the end of the data cache, it often stops loading the video completely. Hope this gets fixed.
     
  23. StuartL macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    Mine does too, as does someone elses I know using a different manufacturers wifi router to mine.

    It will drop off the wifi network then re-prompt for the password. I simply hit cancel, wait a few seconds and the "connect to a network" prompt appears - I just tap on my network and it reconnects without having to re-type the password.

    More of an inconvenience at this stage since I haven't activated my 3G yet. If I do, I would be annoyed if it dropped the wifi and switched to 3G without me spotting it. Wouldn't want it eating into any data usage before I realised.
     
  24. Capt T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    #24
    Are your router security settings WEP, WPA, or WPA2 ?
     
  25. DaneGuy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #25
    I talked to an apple rep today about the fact that my pad works fine at home but when I'm at a hotel or other hotspot my connection is terrible. It will only have one bar and crawl. They want me to reinstall the OS. I'm a little hesitant since I'm jail busted and it would require a lot work to get it back the way I want it. Anyone try reinstalling? Did it help?
     

Share This Page