Ipad2 not showing up on laptop?

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by xelaetaks, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. xelaetaks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #1
    Can anyone give some ideas how to fix this? For some reason my iPad2 wont show up on itunes today. I restarted my laptop, have updated itunes, and have restarted my iPad. Any ideas what I can try to do to fix it? Thanks!
     
  2. poloponies macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #2
    Did you try a different USB port and/or cable?
     
  3. xelaetaks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #3


    Yes. Also it usually shows up if I plug it in the charger and isn't showing up either way on itunes. Also when I plug it in a folder comes up about transferring pics or files but nothing else.
     
  4. xelaetaks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #4
    Well this is weird its actually letting me transfer all my purchases from the menu but the iPad icon isn't showing up on itunes so I can't drag out anything from my laptop to the iPad.
     
  5. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #5
    The included wall charger wll charge better than most USB ports. Try giving it full wall charge with the unit that came with iPad2 instead of using a USB port. Then you should be able to transfer to the USB port and every thing may run just fine,
     
  6. xelaetaks, Dec 28, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011

    xelaetaks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #6

    Thanks, will try that but the iPad2 is charged to at least 10%. when I look in my computer and go to devices it seems to show the iPad as a camera icon....
     
  7. Ashwood11, Dec 28, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011

    Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #7
    I would charge it to 50% or more before attaching to a USB port.
     
  8. xelaetaks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #8
    Ok wow. Thanks. It turns out i had to click on where it says 'devices'. It was hiding my iPad cause i must've clicked it by accident before. :apple:
     

Share This Page