iPhnoe software update already?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by johnwin, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. johnwin macrumors 6502

    johnwin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    #1
    I'm currently downloading a 225.1MB 'update' to my iPhone 3G!

    This is after authorising etc. without a problem this pm then about 10 goes at syncing this evening [uk]

    What gives?
     
  2. bumfilter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    #2
    Would that not be iTunes downloading version 2.0 just in case you need to restore?
     
  3. johnwin thread starter macrumors 6502

    johnwin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    #3
    Might be - it is in the throws of a 'restore' cycle - thanks for the info :)
     
  4. johnwin thread starter macrumors 6502

    johnwin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    #4
    [mods please delete this thread as I'm an iPhone newbie fool. Thanks.]

    skip that -looks like it might be an update after all?
     
  5. byron_hinson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    #5
    It is newer firmware - its about a .2 build higher than the one on shipping iphone 3g's
     
  6. MacReloaded macrumors 6502

    MacReloaded

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    The iPhone 3G comes shipped with firmware 5A345, which is the same as the 8th developer beta. Apple yesterday released firmware 5A347. That's why you're updating.
     
  7. bmms8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #7

    Can you please tell me how to get this latest build? Sorry this is my first day with an iPhone..
     
  8. johnwin thread starter macrumors 6502

    johnwin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    #8
    So every new iphone owner is d/ling 225mb? it's a wonder the internet is even working! :D
     
  9. johnwin thread starter macrumors 6502

    johnwin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    #9
    I'm a fellow iphone newbie - I don't know - the phone would not sync for an hour or so then said it wanted to try restoring my phone but had to do this huge download first
     
  10. johnwin thread starter macrumors 6502

    johnwin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    #10
    after all that it cannot restore due to an 'unknown error' !!!!!!!!!!
     
  11. EdLee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #11
    This is why the version released yesterday (and everyone including me downloaded and installed) was listed as 1,2 as far as hardware goes. The original iPhone is hardware 1,1.

    Glad I was able to get the version for my phone today, but you would think that Apple would have a way to not allow the software install as it's slightly differing hardware than what it expects.
     

Share This Page