iPhone 1.1.2 (OOB) unlocking to use in any GSM network

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by cgdvenkat, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. cgdvenkat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #1
    Hello Friends
    I have recently bought a 4GB iPhone v1.1.2 from apple. It is not yet activated. I would like to unlock it to use it in India. I see a lot of threads with many different procedures for unlocking.

    I am aware of the fact the v1.1.2 can not be software unlocked.

    It will be great if some one can provide a clean tutorial. This will benefit person like me and others who are completely new to unlocking iPhone.

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    You have two choices: a SIM sandwich or downgrading the bootloader and software unlcoking the phone.

    Downgrading the bootloader is a risky process that involves disassembling your iPhone. There are instructions here:

    http://iphone.unlock.no/bootloader_downgrade.htm

    Better (in my opinion):

    A SIM sandwich is a thin card with a chip that you sandwich together with your SIM card in the iPhone. You can find them for sale at many Web sites and from eBay. The chip tricks the phone into thinking that your SIM card is from the right network. StealthSIM, TurboSIM, and NextSIM are but a few examples of these products - all pretty much the same as far as I can tell. They have step-by-step tutorials on how to unlock your phone, and I've successfully done it myself.

    This only works for OOTB 1.1.2 iPhones that have NOT been upgraded to 1.1.3 using iTunes.

    You need a wireless connection, and it will probably take a couple of hours. StealthSIM and TurboSIM both provide detailed instructions for (or links to) the following steps:
    1. Downgrade to 1.1.1
    2. Jailbreak the phone
    3. Prep the phone for jailbroken upgrade to 1.1.2 & upgrade
    4. Prepare your SIM card by cutting a little hole in it so it sits flush with your SIM sandwich card.
    5. Put the sandwich in the phone and run iWorld (via the installer that comes with the jailbreak.)
    Your phone should now work.

    Furthermore, you can then use the jailbroken 1.1.3 upgrade if you so desire (instructions posted in several threads on this site).

    Good luck!
     
  3. adamsweeting macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #3
    I can second that motion. Mine was OTB 1.1.2 - and I am using a *sim solution. Works very well (so far!)
     
  4. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    By the way, did Apple really make 4GB iPhones 1.1.2 OOTB? I thought that they had discontinued the 4GB model by then.

    Are you sure that's what you have?
     
  5. gtgrad95 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA.
    #5
    Just curious. How do you afford an iPhone in India? It would cost you 20,000 rupees, which is a lot of money!
     
  6. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #6
    no there's no 1.1.2 OTB 4 gigs
    either he's mistaken or it's a 3.9 BL that was updated
     
  7. coberst macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #7
    i had a 4gb phone i bough in june. i unlocked it and was using it on t-mobile until last week when it got messed up during a software install. i took it to back to the apple store i was given a "brand new" 4GB iphone that i was told they were still producing for replacements/repairs. it came with "Firware version 04.03.13_G" (1.1.3). since it was made in january of this year chances are it has the 4.6 bootloader.

    and from the serial number:
    Model: Mxxxx iPhone 4GB
    Screen size: 3.5 inch
    Screen resolution: 320x240 pixels
    Factory: 5K (China)code_to_number: 10J - QT232ZAEL2T

    Production year: 2008
    Production week: 03 (January)
    Production number: 1174 (within this week)
     
  8. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #8
    AH!
    touche i forgot apple was evil like that!
     
  9. coberst macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #9
    apple may be evil, but the "genius" at the apple store was nice enough to cite a "hardware problem" as cause of the brick despite my not having an at&t account....hohoho
     

Share This Page