Iphone (1G 2.0) Question

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by abz786, Jul 22, 2008.

  1. abz786 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #1
    k so i had a friends iphone
    1.1.4 originally on it, then he upgraded to 2.0 by mistake, so i ran pwnage tool and did everything and it unlocked it with 2.0 firmware.

    well i didn't have a sim card to test to see if it did work, and he just put his fido sim card into the iphone from his fido phone and it didn't work!

    i am confused here, what do i do??

    Please help me as i would like to get this fixed asap!
     
  2. Erwan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #2
    Ya its not unlocked.

    pwnage 2.0 doesn't unlock the phone

    You should restore back to 1.1.4 and unlock it
     
  3. abz786 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #3
    well if you search for one of the guides under hacking and apps, the pwnage 2.0.1 tutorial for the iphone 1g states when clicking no when the option asks " are you a legit user" will unlock the phone
    thats what i did!
     
  4. anirudh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    India
    #4
    @erwan

    dude, what do you mean by pwnage tool doesnt unlock the phone? what is it released for then?

    to unlock your phone, remember to select NO when it asks you if you are a legit user. Also, dont mess with any settings such as the Baseband update and stuff. If required try clearing you cache, download the pwnage app again, read my simplifed tutorial here to unlock the 2.0. Try having a SIM inside the phone while unlocking. I am not sure whether it has any effect, but just to be safe
     
  5. aneks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #5
    QFA, if you don't click no it will not do the unlock when it runs.
     
  6. someguy7014 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #6
    Quote:
    Ya its not unlocked.

    pwnage 2.0 doesn't unlock the phone

    You should restore back to 1.1.4 and unlock it




    Wrong. Yes Pwnage does unlock the iphone Gen 1, it doesnt unlock the 3g iphone. I have 1g iphone running 2.0 unlocked and jailbroken
     
  7. Erwan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #7
    My bad thought he was talking about a 3G. Misread.
     
  8. abz786 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #8
    my friends just ran pwnage tool with a live sim card inside and tried to unlock it again and nothing worked!!

    i am doing exactly what the manual says!! clicking no when it says are u a legit user etc etc

    please helpppp....
     
  9. mohicanspap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #9
    iPhone Newb

    So I am getting the iPhone 3g soon and I plan on jailbreaking it. I have at&t and when Pwnage asks me if i am legit do I answer "no" or "yes"? I've been reading around and to me it sounds like pwnage will not unlock the phone if you click yes.


    help?
     
  10. abz786 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #10
    k i need some help here

    got 2 friends who have the iphone first gen

    originally had 1.1.4 unlocked, then upgraded to 2.0 by accident

    now all they want is there phones unlocked and usable

    WHAT DO I DO PLEASE!!!

    i need help asap

    THANKS!!
     
  11. emegmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #11
    Visit this site. http://blog.iphone-dev.org/ there are many threads on this here if you have questions. Its pretty easy.
     
  12. emegmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #12
    Click yes only jailbreaks, no unlocks and jailbreaks on first gen.
     
  13. abz786 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #13
    yeah k watched a video on that site
    once it has run the the booneuter etc etc
    the sim card is inside and active and it just shows no service

    why is that?
     
  14. emegmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #14
    Do you get service where you are at? Try taking it outside where you know you get signal maybe.

    Does it show your phone number at the top when you are in contacts?
     
  15. B.King macrumors member

    B.King

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #15
    Iphone stuck

    I have the 8g first gen iphone and it had 2.0 on it, then I tried to unlock it and it is stuck on the insert into iTunes screen, anyone know how I can get past that and put 1.1.4 on it? Or a site with detailed instructions? Thanks!!:apple:
     

Share This Page