iphone 2g 3.1.2

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by itsboosting, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. itsboosting macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #1
    Hi all,

    i've made the mistake of upgrading my gf's iphone 2g phone to 3.1.2 in itunes tonight. Iphone was previously jb'ed/unlocked. Now itunes is requiring me to activate data plan in order to use the phone again. Is there anyway around this? Thanks.
     
  2. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #2
    Yep, you just need to rejailbreak and unlock it. Lucky you did it on a 2g or you'd be stuck.
     
  3. itsboosting thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #3
    i can't seem to find the tutorial on how to do this. can you please help me out? thanks
     
  4. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #4
    Well, you can't quite jailbreak and unlock 3.1.2 yet, as the tools to do it aren't released. But you can go back to 3.1 and jailbreak/unlock it, or else wait maybe a week or so until the new tool is released. If you want to do it to version 3.1, you need to go to http://blog.iphone-dev.org/ and download PwnageTool if you're on Mac OS. This will provide you with step-by-step instructions as to how to do it to the iPhone. Make sure you back up everything you need to keep. You'll also need to get firmware 3.1, which you can get through searching on Google. There are also more detailed instructions as to what to do on the Dev Team site. Once you've used PwnageTool on the iPhone it will be jailbroken and unlocked again.

    There isn't MUCH danger that Apple will update the baseband on the 2g preventing unlocking again (I think they're slowly phasing it out to be honest), but there is always that potential. So don't update through iTunes in the future. :)
     
  5. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    The only way i could get back to JB'd 3.1 was to install 3.0 or 3.0.1 and run redsn0w on it, then do a restore to a custom 3.1 ipsw made with pwnagetool.

    Very convoluted but i couldn't get my phone to accept the custom 3.1 directly. It would throw a 1600 error if i was in restore or DFU mode mode.
     
  6. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #6
    I thought that only applied to the 3g rather than the 2g?
     
  7. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Well it is possible to go directly to 3.1 but for the life of me i couldn't do it. Been jailbreaking my phone for over a year now and I've put it in DFU mode and restore mode but i always get the 1600 error. Tried it on both a Mac and PC.

    The above way worked for me, you can try going directly to a custom 3.1 but i couldn't. That's just my phone though.
     
  8. itsboosting thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #8
    okay after 3 hours of reading/downloading software i was finally able to get it back. here's what i did for anyone else running into the same problem with a windows computer.

    -itunes 9.0
    -download the 3.0 firmware, 3.9 and 4.6 bootloader (quick google search)
    -DFU mode, go to itunes, it will ask to do restore. click okay, then hold down shift + click restore. This will allow you to search for the firmware you want to restore with. Search for the 3.0 firmware you just downloaded and select that file.
    -restores back to 3.0.
    -load redsn0w, load 3.0 firmware, load 3.9 and 4.6 bootloader
    -run jailbreak/unlock

    voila.
    thanks for everyone's help!
     
  9. ej1crash macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #9
    well i tried that and when i go to restore it cant find the 3.0 firmware so
    again im stuck!
     
  10. itsboosting thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #10

    did u google the 3.0 firmware to download to your computer first? you have to press "Shift" on your keyboard to be able to pick and choose your restore file. hope that helps
     

Share This Page