iPhone 2G not responding

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by reoreilly, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. reoreilly macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #1
    Hi all,

    I just bought an iphone (second hand, in as-new condition), which has been jailbroken and has 3.0 firmware installed. However, when I charge it or connect it to the computer, it just shoes the Apple icon on the screen and the swirling "loading" thing, and after a little while of this, it starts all over. I am very new to this and am not sure what the problem is. I am running Mac OS X 10.5.7 on my Macbook, which I believe meets the specifications, and have updated iTunes to the newest version. Can anyone help me out with this?

    Thanks so much.
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    First open iTunes and connect your USB cord to your computer, but do not plug it into your iPhone. Then press and hold the home button on your phone while connecting the USB cord into your iPhone, while continuing to hold down the home button. Then click restore in iTunes.

    Or you can try to do a DFU restore:

    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1034
     
  3. reoreilly thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #3
    Thanks! That worked up until the point where I put my sim card in and it told me the sim was incompatible, and that the phone was locked. I am now trying to install 3.0 firmware, but keep getting error message 10. It's so frustrating, and I am starting to worry that I have spent a lot of money on something that just won't work. As far as I can tell, my computer meets all the requirements, but it won't happen. Is the fact that I am using a macbook a problem? (It's an oldish one, but runs OS X 10.5.7, upgraded only a few weeks ago.)
     
  4. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
  5. reoreilly thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #5
    The DFU restore worked in terms of the computer finding it. :)
    Since then, I've upgraded to 3.0 and used the jailbreak software 3 times or so, and when it says it's done, I put my sim card in and then itunes store tells me that my sim card is not with the appropriate carrier. I don't understand why this is happening, since it seems that the firmware upgrade and the jailbreak work, until I put my sim in. (For the record, I tried using the redsn0w software with and without my sim card in the phone, to see if that made any difference - nada.) I am so frustrated and am starting to worry that I have been ripped off.

    I live in Australia, also. Don't know if this makes a difference at all, but this model of the iphone wasn't released here, if I recall correctly.
    :(:confused:
     
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    If you restore it to 3.0 and then do the jailbreak you don't need an official sim card. You just need to get it to 3.0 where it asks for a sim card, and then jailbreak with Redsn0w after that.
     
  7. reoreilly thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #7
    I have been trying that - now when I get to the reboot stage in redsn0w the phone will not reboot.
     
  8. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #8
    Looks like no one else is stepping up to help you. :)

    I'll look around and try to figure something out, but until then, maybe someone will come around that's more of an expert at jailbreaking and might see your thread and help.

    Edit: Let's make sure you are using the right procedure:

    Go to this link and choose the tutorial for unlocking the 2G on the Mac (unless you only need to jailbreak, then use the JB on the Mac):

    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=2311

    Also, see this thread:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=753471
     
  9. reoreilly thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #9
    Thank you so much for your help, you're very kind. :)
    I wonder if it is at all possible to use redsn0w to unlock the iphone without actually restoring to 3.0 it, which is not of much concern to me at the moment. I just want to be able to use my sim card, send/recieve phone calls and messages and use the browser. I have left the iphone alone overnight (was up until 2am, it's now nearly 1pm here), and I may give it a few more goes now.
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    Well, get some rest. I know of a few people that can really help you on here, but for some reason they haven't come to this thread. However, one of them usually starts posting around now, so maybe he'll take notice. All I can do is try to point you in the right direction, but my experience with jailbreaking is limited.
     
  11. reoreilly thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #11
    Hopefully! I really can't thank you enough, I'm usually pretty good with these sorts of things but I'm stumped on this one. I am assuming the phone is locked to AT&T since it was restored to factory settings before I received it, so there's no way I could take it into a shop here and get it unlocked, is there? (There is no AT&T in Aus, and I assume to get a phone carrier-unlocked you have to take it to the carrier it is locked to.)
     
  12. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #12
    You should download Pwnage Tool, and try jailbreaking the 3.0 OS with that, That way you can let iTunes jailbreak it for you. Have you used that before? It is only compatible with 3.0 right now.
     
  13. reoreilly thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #13
    Yep, I've been restoring to 3.0, then it asks me to put in a sim card, when I do that itunes tells me my sim is not supported, then I go to jailbreak and unlock it with redsn0w and I have finished that a few times but it still won't allow my sim to be used. I bought the phone from within Australia as well, so the person who had it before me had it working with an Aussie network.
     
  14. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #14
    You never said what kind of phone you have but I'll assume it is a 3G, redsn0w can only unlock a 2G iPhone OTB. You have to download "Ultrasn0w" through cydia in order to unlock the phone. Then iTunes will read your phone, I believe.

    The repo for ultrasn0w

    repo666.ultrasn0w.com
     
  15. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #15
    He has a 2G.

    It's okay, at least you're helping him.
    vvvvvvvvvvv
     
  16. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #16
    Just noticed the thread title. :eek:
     
  17. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #17
    Since I now know you have a 2G phone, you should jailbreak your phone without unlocking it through redsn0w, and then once it is all hacktivated and on the springboard, you should go into cydia and download bootneuter, and unlock it on the phone itself to see if that makes a difference.
     
  18. reoreilly thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #18
    I can't actually use the phone until it's unlocked though, it just asks to be plugged into itunes so it can be activated, and when I do that itunes asks me to put in an AT&T sim.
     
  19. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #19
    Well if you run redsn0w it will be hacktivated as long as it isn't activated beforehand. That should allow you access to the springboard even without connecting to iTunes.
     
  20. reoreilly thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #20
    Well that's not working either.
    I really don't want this to have been a waste of money, but now the thing isn't even rebooting properly and I have no idea what can be done with it.
     
  21. reoreilly thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #21
    Can I download whatever OS the iphone 2G originally runs and restore it to that, then use that as the ispw in redsn0w and unlock/jailbreak it? Or can I only use redsn0w with 3.0 firmware?
     
  22. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #22
    FYI, jmann was the member I was referring to that has the best chance of helping you. However, he normally is not on here unti late at night.

    Here is the tutorial for 2.2.1. I have no idea if you should be using this, but you can try:

    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1557
     
  23. reoreilly thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #23
    Okay, I just had a successful trip through redsn0w, but only selected "Install Cydia" (is that what you suggested?), the screen is now just black (but lit, not off), I assume this is now the reboot sort of stage and I should leave it alone for 10 - 15 minutes until it comes back into operation of its own accord? If it has worked, should I now be able to get access to the desktop sort of thing even though it is still locked?
     
  24. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #24
    I missed that you posted here. What happened?
     
  25. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #25
    It usually shouldn't take too long. I would let it sit for a few minutes, and then if it doesn't fully boot, then perform a hard reboot on the phone (hold the lock/home buttons until the phone reboots), and hopefully it will bypass the "connect to iTunes" screen, so you can download bootneuter.
     

Share This Page