Iphone 2g problem

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by hypmatize, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. hypmatize macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #1
    I updated it two 2.1 instead of making a custom .ipsw and puting it in restore mode. Now i can't jailbreak/activate it, it says slide for emergency but my unlock stayed so i still see t-mobile as my carrier. every time i use pwnage it says i succefully enters dfu mode but itunes gives me an error 2001. I have tried quickpwn and that did not work either. any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. rotobadger macrumors 65816

    rotobadger

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #2
    You might try downloading the custom 2.1 ipsw and give it a try. A quick Google will get it for you...
     
  3. hypmatize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    so you think the custom one i made is the problem...i tried to make a custom one a couple of times and i keept getting the itunes 2001 error....
     
  4. hypmatize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #4
    anyone know what the problem is? ive tried everything i could think of short from using a different computer....could my computer be the problem even tho its brand new macbook pro? any help would be greatly appreciated i am currently without a cell phone :(
     
  5. ghalimacman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Casablanca, Morocco
    #5
    Did you try restoring from a custom IPSW? It is supposed to restore your phone with no big problem...
     
  6. hypmatize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #6
    if you mean the one thats made after i run pwnage tool then yes, but every time it says you have successfully entered dfu mode i get error 2001 in itunes...:(
     
  7. hypmatize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #7
    so i fixed the problem.....I had to bootcamp in vista and use the windows version of quickpwn with itunes 7.7 and it worked the first time....anyone know why it didn't work on the mac side. I would prefer to use my mac side more than windows ( i just switched a week ago and what to get used to mac)
     
  8. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #8
    I had this exact same issue. Worked for DAYS to jailbreak 2.1 on my iMac and eventually pulled out my Vista laptop and pwned it within 15 minutes. Even when I went back to 1.1.4 for a day everything had to be done on Windows.
     
  9. hypmatize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #9
    yeah its kind of weird that it worked so easily in windows but i wasn't for the life of me do it on the mac side.
     

Share This Page