iphone 2g with old 1.1.4 firmware

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hybridge, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. hybridge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #1
    hello.
    Just got this old phone, it is unlocked and I plan to use with tmobile. what is the best way to update to current firmware? I am not iphone expert, sorry. Thanks for any help.
     
  2. melterx12 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #2
    connect to itunes > press check for update.
     
  3. hybridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #3
    Thanks. It says there is 3.1.3 firmware available. But if I update it, it won't be unlock and can't use with tmobile anymore right?
     
  4. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
  5. hybridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #5
    Thanks. so new 3.1.3 current firmware is unlockable correct?
     
  6. melterx12 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #7
    iPhone 2G can be unlocked regardless of firmware.
     
  7. hybridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
  8. hybridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #9
    I am so out dated. Downloading itunes 9.2 now then I'll update firmware 3.1.3 then follow instruction from iclarified.com will post result. Thanks again.
     
  9. hybridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #10
    after update to 3.1.3 firmware my tmobile sim no longer work itune say it does not support this sim, tried to follow instruction from iclarifiec.com and it says it does not recognize specified IPSW that come with the download. Could anyone guide me what can I do next?
    thanks
     
  10. bizzle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #11
    Upgrade to normal 3.1.3 and lose the unlock. Jailbreak with Spirit, it does work with 9.2, I just did it a few days ago. Install BootNeuter from Cydia once jailbroken. Turn off auto-lock and run BootNeuter with the neuter and unlock options. Wait a few minutes, restart and insert your SIM.
     
  11. hybridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #12
    thanks bizzle, tried spirit and got error code1. any idea?
     
  12. hybridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #13
    Followed instruction from iclarified.com, could not load 3.1.3 IPSW so had to use 3.1.2 IPSW abd it went through. Now I can use my tmobile sim but installer icon is missing. Does anyone has any idea how to get it back?
     

Share This Page