iPhone 2G without Data-Jailbreak?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Motocross250R, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. Motocross250R macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #1
    I have searched and seen many different answers. OK, I just bought a 3GS to replace my iPhone 2G. I am on a 3 phone family plan and am the only iPhone. I want to give my 2G to my daughter, but here is the kicker, she's at college with full wifi everywhere, so $20 is a complete waste. I want to somehow jailbreak it, install the BossPref to turn off EDGE, and somehow get it on her account. How does jailbreaking work with activating? Do I have to unlock even if it's going on an AT&T contract? Do I still have to activate it? Or can I just jailbreak, install Boss, and pop her SIM in? Thanks!!!

    Oh, btw this will be on 3.0, so idk if they have unlcok/jb software yet.
     
  2. Motocross250R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
  3. Motocross250R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #4
  4. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #5
    So if I read correctly, you want to turn off EDGE but use AT&T? That won't work if that what you wanted to do. :)

    It you want to give it to your daughter to use like an iPod with no phone capabilities, then yes, you can jailbreak and "hacktivate" it.
     
  5. Motocross250R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #6
    Yes, I want to keep AT&T, why can't I do that? I've heard of several people who have done it,

    OK, here is my plan: Jailbreak and not activate (Is that even possible?) install Boss, turn of EDGE, call AT&T, tell em I want to use it without the data, they say no way, and I say fie, I'll just put the SIM back in my old phone. But never d it, and not pay data. Possible? Thanks
     
  6. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #7
    AT&T will block data service on that phone and remove any costs from your plan if you complain about it. So if you activate it as normal and complain abotu data service after a few days, you should be fine. Many on this board have been able to do this, including myself. You won't need to unlock it, and it will activate as normal.

    If you do wish to go without signing up for a data plan to begin with, just pop in the old SIM and activate it through iTunes. All AT&T iPhones will activate there, regardless of your rate plan. After this, just install a new profile that removes the APN for data to block it. Keep in mind, though, that they can still go in and add the data plan without your input if you do this. The first choice is probably the most legitimate of the two, but both will give the same result.
     
  7. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #8
    You have to read the entire thing, first.

    Oh wait...

    You have to subscribe to a data. If you don't pay, they cut your service. redsn0w lets you activate the phone on any plan, right now I'm using a basic AT&T with unlimited TXT and no data on my 2G. You won't need to turn off edge, as if you get a plan without data, JB & Activate though redsn0w, you wont be able to use it (at least I can't since I don't have data).
     
  8. Motocross250R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #9
    OK, so set it up regular, (Her SIM)? then call AT&T and say take it off? Will they also block any data? Or would I still need a jb? I tried to get em to block the data since she would have it in her purse and accidently go online, it would charge me like $0.50, and they blocked it on all lines, thus ****ing up my iphone. So enough ranting, just set it up, call em, tell em to take it off and block on that line and your good to go? Thanks!
     
  9. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #10
    Well of course you're not going to activate it and tell them two minutes later to remove data... give it a few days or weeks, possibly a month or two. They can block data to a single phone, but you'll probably have to explain that there is a location difference across your family plan due to your child attending school elsewhere. By putting her SIM in, though, the phone will automatically activate and it could be a while before they add the data plan, assuming that they would do so to begin with.
     
  10. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #11
    Well, if you turn off EDGE, how will she make phone calls? Unless I missed something here...
     
  11. Motocross250R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #12
    You don't need EDGE to make calls, EDGE and 3G is only for interent. SHe won't be able to send MMS, but who can anyway? My RAZR had EDGE, I called AT&T to block data so I wouldn't acidently hit internet and pay 1 cent a kbs and the EDGE symbol went away, I could still make calls. EDGE is interent only, you will still have regular AT&T service.
     
  12. Motocross250R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #13
    OK, I think I have the answer,

    Take the non activated phone, plug it in and jailbreak, which I have read if you use redsn0w and a 2G phone will also unlock, install Boss to disable EDGE, then since it's unlocked, pop in her sim and AT&T will never know. Will this work?
     
  13. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #14
    The original iPhone doesn't have 3G and has an EDGE radio for voice and data transmission, hence why you cannot download data when you are on a phone call. 3G radios allow for simultaneous data and voice. However if you turn off the radio, it's off and hence, you can't transmit data sure, but you cut off voice as well. The original iPhone doesn't have 2 separate EDGE radios...
     
  14. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #15
    I say forget it and just get the data plan. Is it worth a possibilty of a Hugh bill? I understand the wifi thing but if you are going to give her the iPhone then let her. I could see it now.....

    She with some of her friends and they are stuck on something. They ask your daughter to look it up since she has an iPhone. Oh I can't it's just a phone. Man will she get laughed at.
     
  15. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #16
    You don't need to jailbreak to remove the data-access APN.
     
  16. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #17
    One thing to remember, 3.0 disables data on any iPhone without an approved iPhone plan. This includes the GoPhone pay as you go plans. You don't have to worry about turning off edge while using 3.0 in the iPhone for this reason.
     
  17. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #18
    I don't think that's true.

    However, you can go to unlockit.co.nz/#_MainMenu on safari and press the disable data button.
     
  18. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #19
    It is true. Search MacRumors for 3.0 disabling data on non iPhone users.
     
  19. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #20
    Really. Because the last time i heard was that they were doing sweeps, disabling the non iPhone data plans and for 2G either putting back the iPhone data plan or making you pay by the KB, or 3G, where they make you pay for the 3G data plan.


    Just use the fake APN generator. It blocks your phone from connecting.
     
  20. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #21
    It only disables data on the iPhone-specific APN. Changing it to the one that the rest of the network uses works just fine...
     
  21. Motocross250R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #22
    OK, I called AT&T and they said no way. I really tried and they said they can't take it off.

    With all these ideas, what would you guys recommend? If I don't do a regular activation, i.e jailbreak, then I would never have a data plan put on right?
     
  22. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #23
    If you want to use this iPhone without a data plan you better take a day off of work cause you are going to have to keep calling. Also as more of these threads go on you have to remember that people from AT&T read these boards. They are probably putting system blocks.

    When I worked for Verzion and tried to take a feature off that was required it would not let me save it. So it might be that AT&T put a system block to stop reps from doing it
     
  23. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #24
    The easiest way is to get an old phone (any non smart phone works), put the sim in it and use it to call ATT, tell them you want a data block. Once the data block is active, jailbreak-activate the iPhone and then you'll be able to just stick the sim card inside and use it.
     
  24. Motocross250R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #25
    LOVE the idea. She now has an LG Shine, and I have an old RAZR V3xx, use one of them? And also, if I'm jailbreaking/unlocking, can't I jsut install the Boss pref to block EDGE and not even have to call AT&T? Thanks
     

Share This Page