iPhone 3.0 install not working - iTunes Store Issue

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by fgonz44, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. fgonz44 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    I just tried installing 3.0 and keep getting this error.

    "We could not complete your iTunes Store request.
    An unknown error occured (-4).
    There was an error in the iTunes Store. Please try again later."

    Now my phone is a brick. I am sure it will get fixed but it is very annoying. I guess it's my fault for being impatient. They should have a lottery or some sort of staged roll out so they don't have these issues.

    Anyone else having this problem?
     
  2. timbos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    #2
    Yeah. I am too. My guess is that there are too many of us trying to update and authorise their phone at the same time. :mad:
     
  3. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #3
    yeah man. god i am having hte same problem
     
  4. Serial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Kastanienbaum, Switzerland
    #4
    Very stupied error.... very frustrating....!

    I am having the same problem!
     
  5. ARK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #5
    same here.. i downloaded 3.0 and got it placed on my phone. then decided to do a restore and start over as a fresh new iphone. im getting the error now and my phone is bricked.
     
  6. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #6
    Got it after my 5th retry, so just keep trying to connect.
     
  7. youngplaya0228 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    Same exact thing happened to me. There always gotta be something wrong the first day when it comes to Apple.
     
  8. saxstreeter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Eastern USA
    #8
    Yep. I have the -4 error brickage now. Glad that's not my only cell ph...
    DOH!!!! :eek:
     
  9. 03sho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Same with me.
     
  10. hoonu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #10
    Going through same thing. I restored because I wasnt getting ANY 3G service and now I cant seem to complete the restore... GFG
     
  11. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #11
    You'd have thought by now Apple would have actually got used to the volumes of users on these occasions. I'm seeing the "the iPhone activation server is temporarily unavailable" message and it won't start restoring. As a developer, I've already got 3.0 on my phone but I was taking the opportunity to clear it down after lots of installs / reinstalls of test applications. Guess I'll wait until tomorrow ;)

    And Apple wonder why they're not taken seriously in the enterprise space!
     
  12. ortuno2k macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    #12
    Yeah; this sucks and it shouldn't happen, but just be patient. My best guess is to try later in the afternoon or at night, when the traffic slows down a bit (if at all). :)
     
  13. ARK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
  14. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #14
    me too!!
     
  15. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #15
    This is the exact reason why I try to avoid "opening day" downloads....annoying issues like this seem to always happen:(
     
  16. jimboboc82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #16
    -9812

    I'm getting unknown error -9812 - is that the same thing?
     
  17. trendkiller macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #17
    I fixed mine by creating another account on my mac via preferences. Unplug iphone, log into new account, open itunes, connect iphone..boom it works.

    Wait for iphone to boot, log back into original account, plug in iphone,restore via backup, all info is back working on 3.0...Delete newly made account!

    that worked for me, hopefully it will work for you.
     
  18. xiovoix macrumors regular

    xiovoix

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Location:
    Maybe Ned Ludd was Right?
  19. matt3224 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #19
    arrrrgh

    this is so frustrating. i can't even get to the point of paying for and downloading the firmware getting that damn -4 error have tried for over an hour. Why don't Apple get their ass into gear and make sure the servers can handle all the traffic
     
  20. martinmartin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #20
    also getting this error code - cannot activate a 3g that was just upgraded to 3.0...

    any ideas???
     

Share This Page