iPhone 3.0 No Easy Solution

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by givingjane, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. givingjane macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    #1
    When upgrading to 3.0 I got:
    "We could not complete your iTunes store request."

    And I'm stuck with a brick for a phone.

    I tried all this stuff:
    - Click on iTunes Store, then back to your phone in iTunes: This was how at least I resolved my issue. It essentially repeats the iTunes store request.

    - Keep clicking O.K. on the popup error: We’ve heard that this works, too.

    - Ejecting and plugging back in: Both Joe Tech and Business Insider ejected their iPhones and plugged them back in without losing data. We don’t suggest this option unless absolutely necessary (simply waiting until later would be the more prudent option).

    - Patience: As the demand decreases, the servers will recover and there will be less error messages.


    And I tried this:
    The fix is to go into Internet Explorer, go to advanced options, scroll down to security and UNCHECK “Check for server certificate revocation”. Restart iTunes and close IE and you should be fine.

    Any other ideas? I can't even get into my iphone options in iTunes.

    You're all grand, thanks.

    -Maia
     
  2. AiralynRose macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #2
    2g? 3g?
    Has it been jailbroke?
    Are you upgrading from 2.2.1? 2.2? 2.0?
    Are you using a mac or a pc?
    Did you call Apple?
    Stop at the genius bar?
    Do you have the latest version of iTunes?
    Have you put the phone in DFU mode and tried?
    Restart the phone?
    Take the sim card out?
    Restart your computer?
     
  3. givingjane thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    #3
    3g
    not jailbroken
    Upgrading from 2.2.1? (the latest)
    Using a Mac.
    I didn't call Apple
    I didn't stop by the genius bar
    I do have the latest version of iTunes.
    I haven't put it inDFU mode (hoping to avoid that)
    I have restarted the phone.
    I haven't taken the sim card out.
    I have restarted my computer.
     
  4. givingjane thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    #4
    I ran DFU mode, restored it to factory settings (twice I did this), and we're still at square one. :confused:
     
  5. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #5
  6. givingjane thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    #6
    I think I already have the firmware (is this site, iClarified, for jailbreaking?). And when I put it in DFU mode, it's not giving me any options. Do I just hold down the shift key when I click "restore"? Cuz that wasn't doing anything.
     
  7. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #7
    The iclarified firmware is the official firmware, not tinkered with in any way.

    What should happen is this. When you get into DFU, iTunes will tell you that it has detected an iphone in recovery mode, and that it has to be restored.

    If you are on a Windows PC, you hold shift and click restore, and it then opens the browsing window to let you select the firmware that you downloaded. If you are on a Mac it is option/restore and the same thing happens.

    It should then restore the phone ok in iTunes without needing to download anything more.

    Then you should be done, and able to use your backup to restore contacts etc

    Hope that works for you OK.
     
  8. givingjane thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    #8
    Well, still right back to square one. Thanks for taking the time to help, but I might just have to bring it in.
     
  9. Googon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #9
    Just be happy that your iPhone turns on.

    Mine doesn't.
     
  10. givingjane thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    #10
    Follow up:

    I talked to an Apple rep, and he said the error I was getting (I think it was 2609) was actually a P.C. error. So I got to work in the morning and plugged my iPhone into a P.C. and it began the install. Everything OK now.
     

Share This Page