iPhone 3G - A subjective comparison

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Samaritan, Jul 18, 2008.

1. Samaritan macrumors member

Well, I've managed to get hold of a 3G White.. and I thought I would post my thoughts on how it compares to my previous phone - a Nokia n95.

I've read on a number of forums ppl comparing the two, and saying Apple have missed the boat with the iPhone because there are a number of phones out there that have been around for some time that do what the iPhone does now. It got me thinking so I decided to do a comparison with the n95. Maybe its an unfair comparison, but the n95 8GB is a current phone, and on contract over here in the UK is a comparable cost and feature set (-touch screen of course).

Just my opinion, and very subjective, but comments more than welcome. I'm new to iPhone (obviously) and had no experience with the 2G model.

Look and Feel

The iPhone feels a lot more solid. The n95 got scratched up far too easily in my opinion, and most importantly it creaked and felt flimsy. I was always concerned by the fact that the n95 two way slider always felt loose and wobbled - it just didn't feel well built and felt cheap. The iPhone feels a lot more solidly built and not as scratchable. Time will tell I guess, but personally I think that the iPhone is better overall on look and feel than the n95. Size wise the n95 is smaller, but a bit chunkier. So dead heat I reckon on pocketability.

Display

iPhone screen is bigger, higher resolution, and more vivid. n95 screen was dimmer by comparison even on full brightness, and was not as clear. n95 had no accelerometer so changing orientation was a manual job. No touchscreen on the n95, so no real comparison there. iPhone wins here.

Battery Life