iPhone 3G - Activation Issues!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rowensiv, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. rowensiv macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #1
    I got an iPhone 3G off eBay. I have an AT&T Plan as it is now (NOT an iPhone Plan), and want to use the 3G on it without paying the $30 /month data charge, because I already have the $15/month MediaNet. I tried to use QuickPwn to Activate the phone last night, but it just gave me no signal, and occasionally a "NO SERVICE" message. I also tried Pwnage, but with the same results.

    I was looking for help on this last night, and found that if you un-check "Activate" in pwnage, it would be okay, and I could use the phone. But here's where it gets bad, AT&T just sent me a Text MSG saying that "My plan is inelgible for an iPhone 3G, to call them immediately to avoid extra charges."

    How can I solve this one guys?

    Thanks,
    Rob
     
  2. rowensiv thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #2
    Ok, I redid everything again! My 3G now gives me no signal at all! HELP!
     

    Attached Files:

  3. mrcharlie91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    You deserve it

    People here in macrumors are not hackers nor criminals.

    We are not here to help you illegally use the phone. If AT&T don't want

    you to use other plan than they said, you better get with the program.

    They are so kind, giving you warning texts, I would have charged you

    without any warnings. Just go to Apple/AT&T Store tell them the truth,

    and activate the plan. If you can't afford the data plan, don't use iphone.

    It's not fair someone pays less than others and still get the same thing

    :mad::mad:
     
  4. Hawkeye411 macrumors 68000

    Hawkeye411

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada EH!!!
    #4
    Can't you activate it and ask them to turn off the data so you won't have and data charges?
     
  5. rowensiv thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for your help. Last time I checked, it wasn't illegal to unlock/jailbreak a device.
     
  6. Knolly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #6
    Okay, so you already have it hactivated, right?

    Plug it in and sync it with iTunes so iTunes makes a backup of the phone.

    Make a new IPSW with Pwnage tool but do NOT check the activate box. Restore it with Pwnage.

    Now plug in the iPhone, iTunes should prompt you to restore from a backup. Do that. You should now get a signal.
     
  7. integragsr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #7
    I am in the same situation as you are, I have a pantech duo with 200 txt message plan and I got a 16gb black iphone for $400 through craigslist(good deal btw) , so far I don't have any problems with the iphone, neither att has sent me a msg saying that i should change my plan, so I guess since I had the pantech duo with 200 txt msg, my sim card that belonged to the pantech duo works in the iphone with no problems. There is one thing though, when I check my att account instead of showing the pantech duo as my phone, it shows my iphone with just the 200txt msg plan and thats all. I haven't been charged with any pay per data fee.
     
  8. Inukami macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #8
    Wait are you trying to unlock or jailbreak o_O???
    You cant unlock a 3G iPhone by software.
     
  9. rowensiv thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #9
    okay, i know you cant unlock it. i have heard that by like 500,000 people today. i dont want it unlocked. i want to use it on AT&T! just not with an iphone plan...
     
  10. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #10
    umm this is NAHT illegal

    and plenty of people here are "hackers"

    try again next time


    for the record, what you are trying to do i believe IS technically unlocking the phone

    even though you are using the same provider, the service is different.

    the iphone is "locked" to an iphone service contract which you do not have, therefore unlocking is necessary, you'll need to wait for the dev team to release a 3g unlock
     
  11. Inukami macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #11
    Actually i think you can just go to the store and ask for any plan except prepaid. Monthly plan works in anyways, prepaid you need to unlock it since its a different type of plan not supported by the 3G iPhone.
     
  12. rowensiv thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #12
    i figured i was gonna have to wait... :rolleyes:

    its just a matter of time :cool:
     
  13. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #13
    You have to unlock it to get it to work with another SIM, even if it's another AT&T sim. Hell, I had to unlock my first gen iPhone in order to use the SIM card from my 3G in it.

    So, unless you get a proper plan, I think you are stuck until they can get this thing unlocked.
     
  14. alejandrodj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #14
    here is what you need to do. get a friend that has an iphone 3g with the plan that goes with it already. borrow his sim. and after you pwn it or whatever you wanna do with it, plug it to itunes and itunes should activate it with no issues. then just switch sim cards and it should work. im telling you cuz i have an iphone 3g with the plan of the 30 bucks...(yes i know it sucks) then i tried a sim of att that has a cheaper plan. and it worked.
    i hope it helps.
     

Share This Page