Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yourdream

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 16, 2008
So I've been using the phone for several months now and have never calibrated the battery on it. I find the battery actually quite weak, but I'm not sure if it is just the battery indicator being inaccurate. Should I calibrate the battery? If so, how do I do it? I'm assuming to do this every few months, which will not harm the battery right? I know how to do it for my aluminum MacBook but not for my phone.

davyreins

macrumors 6502
Jul 10, 2008
Ann Arbor
After a full charge discharge it fully. Then, charge it fully again. Some people think this is necessary, other sdon't. I usually calibrate my batteries for my laptop, ipod, iPhone, etc every once and a while.

Resist

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2008
After a full charge discharge it fully. Then, charge it fully again.
If these were Metal Cad batteries then I would say do this but they are Lithium Ion and don't have a memory, so this does nothing for them.

yourdream

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 16, 2008
After a full charge discharge it fully. Then, charge it fully again. Some people think this is necessary, other sdon't. I usually calibrate my batteries for my laptop, ipod, iPhone, etc every once and a while.

All right, so I basically just charge the phone fully and drain it until it is 0%, and then charge it again, right? This won't harm the battery in the phone, right?

Cancelled
Aug 25, 2008
calibration will net you ZERO battery life

all the calibration does is... calibrate the % remaining

let me see if I can explain

If you have a battery that for some reason is not calibrated, it might say that you have 70% of battery life remaining when you actually have 67%.

you don't gain any extra battery life, but it will be more accurate

pilotkid

macrumors 6502a
Aug 22, 2006
Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL