iPhone 3G can no longer locate me on 2.0.1

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by kracker, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. kracker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #1
    When I first got my iPhone it wouldn't locate me on 2.0 but i did a Reset Network Settings. That worked and everything was great. Now I update my firmware and it can't locate me. I tried the network reset. No luck. Anyone have a solution to this?

    I'm on 3G and have location services on.
     
  2. Justinerator macrumors 6502

    Justinerator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    #2
    When you say, "it can't locate me", what does that mean exactly? Do the blue crosshares still pop up to show you the general area you're in? Is the blue gps dot in another area altogether? Or are you just unable to get a lock on the map? If it's any of the three I just mentioned, it could be that you don't have a direct connection to the gps because you are inside, or you are in an area where it's hard to get a signal. To try to fix this, you could hard-reset the phone (by holding down the sleep/wake button and the home button for 10 seconds or so) or do a system restore from a backup. Good luck! ;)
     
  3. kracker thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #3
    I mean i would get the error telling me the iphone could not locate me. I have all bars so i don't think its a signal problem. I just did the hard reset and now I get this. It stays like this. When I first did the reset it took about 2 minutes to get that. I left it then it had the dot a few streets off. Now I get the large circle the whole time when I try now.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Justinerator macrumors 6502

    Justinerator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    #4
    hmm. That's weird. I would try restoring it - it couldn't hurt... If that doesn't work, I would suggest taking it in to your local Apple store. Sorry I couldn't be of more help.:(
     
  5. wisnick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #5
    I am having a similar problem with location and 2.0.1.

    I have an iPhone 3G and with 2.0 software, outside I got the pulsing blue pin and indoors when I wifi it had me in the cross hairs within a block.

    With 2.0.1 software, outdoors works the same, but indoors does not. Instead, it find me within a larger range, similar to the earlier post.

    Has anyone else noticed a difference?

    My guess is that the GPS receiver is still working well, but the a-gps system is not. The a-gps system uses cell strength AND wifi. Cell phone triangulation is not very accurate (thus giving a large possible range indoors), but I think it is still working. Apple contracted a company that mapped wifi basestation IDs to graphical locations. I feel that the wifi assistance is NOT working because the accuracy is lower with 2.0.1 as compared to 2.0 when I am inside.
     
  6. Justinerator macrumors 6502

    Justinerator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    #6
    No. Why would they do that? It probably means your wifi connection is turning on you. :p

    If you're having an issue, all I can say is restore the iPhone from a backup, create a new iPhone setup after erasing everything, or take it back to the apple store and trade it in...

    The blue dot appears for me when I'm outside or near a window inside, but if I'm smack-dab in the middle of my room, it'll have the blue crosshares within a few meters, which I can definitely live with...

    Justin
     

Share This Page