Iphone 3G cannot be activated

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by TheBold, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. TheBold macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #1
    Guys I need your help

    I bought an Iphone from ebay, as per the seller, the phone is offficially unlocked by apple (model# MB489X). when I recieved the phone I've inserted my SIM card and it worked and detected the network....the FW was 2.0.

    later I was trying to upgrade to 2.2 and then JB it, after the upgrade the phone failed to activate by Itunes. it says insert a valid sim card.

    right now, the phone is displaying the USB cable and the Itunes logo.

    1) what is the possibility of this phone being turbosim soldered?
    2) what shall I do now to get it working?

    any advice?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. mohicanspap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #2
    Bad idea to upgrade because that gets rid of the unlocked baseband. What is your carrier? And if you want to unlock and jailbreak it again here is a good tutorial site.

    For Mac: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1557

    For Windows: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1880

    P.S. How much did yo pay for the iPhone?
     
  3. TheBold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #3
    I did upgraded based on that it is officially unlocked and there is no harm to do so.

    Any Ideas....
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #4
    perhaps he lied to you and it really isn't unlocked by apple. Because it will work perfectly with other sim cards if it is officially unlocked. You might have been scammed. :eek:

    Maybe you can call apple and ask them if that particular phone is unlocked, they should know.
     
  5. TheBold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #5
    This is what I am afraid of....being scammed...may I know what Apple's email address for checking the status of the phone if it is officially unlocked or not.?

    Thanks
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #6
    I'm sure on their website it will have their customer service email on their, you should check there. Or if you are in the US maybe you can call AT&T and maybe they will tell you.
     
  7. TheBold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #7
    Thanks....I've been looking for the email, nothing found...anyhow, I did JB (FM2.2) then the network was discovered for few seconds then disappeared.
    the network is not showing anymore...any Ideas?

    Thanks
     
  8. ehurdler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    #8
    You never answered the question of what your carrier was. What carrier do you have? It is possible that if you turn the 3G network off on the phone, it will work for whatever carrier you have. It may be a long shot, but if you haven't tried as of now, can't hurt.
     
  9. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #9
    I just remembered, I heard some people say that they had to put their phone into airplane mode before connecting it to itunes. You should try that.
     
  10. TheBold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #10
    Dears

    thanks for your ideas and help....

    I've tried all what you've proposed. no change...the network shows for few seconds then goes off again...the Carrier is Saudi Telecom compnay.

    I've paid $650 to get this phone.

    I've contacted the seller and sent him the IMEI and he will contact apple.

    ** can HE activate the phones by having only the IMEI? knowing that he is in australia and the phone with me here (KSA).

    Thanks
     
  11. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Jeff's iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    well if he has the imei number he should be able to call his carrier and pay the fee to unlock it. Once they do that you just restore your phone and it will say your phone is unlocked.
     
  12. TheBold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #12
    Thanks alot....I hope it will go fine.
     
  13. TheBold thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #14
    I sent the IMEI to the seller and it has been activated by apple.

    Thanks for every one.
     

Share This Page