iPhone 3G contacts bug

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ninosninos, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. ninosninos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    #1
    So, I'm kinda in a difficult situation here: I seldomly use the pc to put songs or anything else in my cell, I use the wall charger everytime, in terms, and has been long i even updated it. So, I had to update it to the latest version software in order to download and install an app I wanted, I had tu plug it in a pc in order to download it's latest version, and here's where the hell happens: as I got home from the update, I noticed ALL MY CONTACTS were gone! And since I don't use any other means of storing data, this made me sleepless last night.. The damn backup message it went up showing nearly half an hour before updating the phone didn't work for anything, since I tried restoring fromthat backup and it was nowhere to be found. I even probed into the folders looking for the backup, and the folder was even there, but it was empty. :/
    What to do? I'm effin desperate here. Don't know what to do.

    Thanks if you guys can give me some help or advice.
     
  2. ninosninos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    #2
    is it allowed to bump a topic? if not, sorry, i won't do it again..
     
  3. JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Aren't your contacts backed up on your computer?
     
  4. davehutch macrumors 6502a

    davehutch

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    Croxley, Herts
    #4
    If you don't use a PC but still want a backup, you need a "cloud" solution such as Google or MobileMe
    That way youor contacts are stored remotely and just synchronised to and from your phone each time you make a change.
    Not sure how you're going to get all your existing contacts (if you still have any) onto Google in the first place though
     
  5. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #5
    not entirely true you can backup to office's outlook aswell on windows
     

Share This Page