iPhone 3G Domestic Data Roaming

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by spazattack674, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. spazattack674 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    So, in the network settings on iPhone 3G, it has data roaming set to "off" by default. If I am staying within the US, would it make a difference to turn data roaming on? I'm wondering, because in some parts of the US, AT&T's coverage maps say "Partner EDGE". If I turn on data roaming will I be able to take advantage of this, and if so, will it cost any extra?
     
  2. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    In the US it is pretty much impossible to actually 'roam.' when it says 'partner EDGE' it means that AT&T has an agreement with the company that owns the tower to let it's users access those towers without incurring any roaming cost.

    To specifically answer your question, turning data roaming on/off will not affect your ability to access so-called partner towers. Personally, I leave mine turned off since I don't travel and as a 'just-in-case' measure.
     
  3. spazattack674 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    Thank you for the advice. That was my thinking, so I'll just keep the data roaming off
     
  4. MikeStevens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    #4
    Data Roaming UK

    Same question about Data Roaming. I'm in the UK, but travel around quite often. Why is Data roaming turned off by default? I understand it should be off when I'm in the non-UK part of Europe. Should it be on or off whilst in the UK?

    Thank you
     
  5. JonboyDC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #5
    Because too many original iPhone owners received shockingly high phone bills after returning from foreign trips. People would travel and avoid making calls (to avoid roaming charges), but wouldn't think about how often their phones transmitted/received data.

    (And this treatment of data roaming is consistent with how AT&T and T-Mobile (in the U.S.) treat all international roaming. If you want to be able to use your AT&T phone while outside the U.S., you must affirmatively contact AT&T and ask that the international roaming feature be turned on. There's no cost for it, but they don't want people to come back and claim they had no idea what they would have to pay for international roaming.)
     
  6. MikeStevens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    #6
    Thank you JonboyDC for you concise and rapid answer, it was much appreciated. However, I did ask why Data Roaming was switched off by default in the UK. I'm having trouble connecting to 3G and wondered if I could access it if Data Roaming were switched on.

    Incidentaly AT&T is an insignificant supplier of services in the UK.

    Thanks again
     

Share This Page