iPhone 3G Jailbreak / Unlocking for multiple carriers: "T-Mobile, Alltel, Verizon"

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by NeuroKinetic, Jan 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NeuroKinetic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #1
    Alright, before we begin there are some things that you will need to be aware of before continuing.

    !!! - There is a chance upon doing this that you may brick your iPhone, this has only been tested with the listed three Networks. You must obtain one of these sim-cards at the moment for it to work:

    T-Mobile
    Alltel & Verizon ( You can get these through certain CDMA / GSM Capable phones sold by the company.)

    Also, the process is around ten minutes. But can take up to four hours to register on the new network. - !!!

    Tutorial: "Video Will Be Posted Within A Couple Days"

    Before we start you must meet these requirements for the process to work:

    - Click On Settings
    - Click On General
    - Click On About
    - - > Verify:
    - - - - - - - > Version: 2.2 (5G77)
    - - - - - - - > Modem Firmware: 02.28.00

    Use the QuickPwn Application to restore your phone to the correct Version & Firmware to make this exploit possible.

    If you haven't Jailbroken the iPhone yet please go download : QuickPwn 2.2

    Once you've installed QuickPwn follow the steps on screen which go like this:

    - Power Off
    - Once Powered off hold "Power + Home" for 10 seconds
    - Then Release Power and continue to hold Home

    If you successfully hit the correct timing, QuickPwn will compile the IPSW and begin installing to your iPhone.

    After it has completed slide to the application "Cydia" which will now be one of the Applications installed.

    - Load Cydia
    - Update All The Applications (4.4 MB Worth)
    - After it has installed / updated all the applications it will restart
    - After it restarts open it again

    - Remove your AT & T Sim Card and place one of the other carriers cards in the slot.

    - Once you've done that within the Application "Cydia" Select Manage
    - Select Edit
    - Select Add
    - Type this in exactly: http://apt9.yellowsn0w.com
    - Select Search
    - Type in yellowsn0w
    - Click the Application
    - Download the file- it's around 64KB so it's not large
    - Then it will install then restart

    Now that the application has installed- Power Off the iPhone. After you've powered it down... Turn it back on; give it a few minutes.

    Indicators:
    - You will see the "Bars" then "Internet Edge or 3G" then you will see the Network Carrier.

    After it has successfully done that, then go ahead and open:
    - Settings
    - General
    - About
    - - > Under Network you will see the new carrier, not AT & T

    Once you see that, you've successfully unlocked your iPhone 3G to "any" network. In the video, I will be using a "Blackberry 8830 Sim-Card."

    Hopefully this helps, there should be another launch which will exploit the base band further, to hopefully get it "fully" on a CDMA Network as if it was a Sprint or Verizon only phone. With no GSM Capabilities.
     
  2. DEAN616 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    So you're saying: Do the update like normal, and magically it will work with the Verizon World SIM that doesn't work in the U.S.A.?

    Okay. Well, there's that. I knew it was fake.

    IT'S FAKE.
     
  4. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #5
    Alltel is verizon

    :apple:Theres no way an iPhone can work on cdma unless major hardware/software changes were made. Tmobile is really it for us users.:apple:
     
  5. NeuroKinetic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #6
    It's not fake, you can call it fake if you'd like. I'll continue doing what I'm doing, accepting money from people who want it on Verizon but don't know how.

    Figured I'd give people who were willing to try it on there own a chance. I'm not giving you a hard way either. No CLI, strictly a GUI all the way for you.
     
  6. grantsdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    #7
    We know the app works, but only T-Mobile and AT&T use the proper infrastructure to support the iPhone hardware in the US. Therefore, no other networks can possibly work with the iPhone.
     
  7. 11800506 macrumors 65816

    11800506

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Washington D.C. Area
    #8
    The iPhone in its current iteration will never work on a CDMA network regardless of whether of not you use Verizon's global sim cards, since they won't even roam on a US GSM network, and even if it did there would be little point since you wouldn't get improved coverage of Verizon's network.
     
  8. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #9
    My girlfriend is using Unicel on her iPhone. She lives in the US.
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Those AND the other little local GSM providers, such as Centennial Wireless.

    Granted, they're being bought by AT&T, but I know two opthamologists with unlocked iPhones on Centennial, and "Centennial" appears as the carrier logo when they use them.
     
  10. plan4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #11
    unicel in maine is now verizon (cdma), in vermont they are now att to avoid an anti-trust situation. as far as i know, unicel in nh will also become verizon and be converted to cdma. you may want to start planning for that.
     
  11. NeuroKinetic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #12
    Call me what you want, Best Buy let me use there Demo Phones.

    T-Mobile G1: ** Success **
    Backberry Storm Verizon: ** Success ** (This phone uses a Verizon Sim)

    Then they swapped another Verizon phone, but my MSID in there system, validated it. My phone went through the programming codes and worked. Worked like a Verizon Unlocked phone.

    Either way it worked... So, if you'd like try it see for yourself. If not call me an idiot. That's fine.
     
  12. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #13
    I know... I'm trying to push her to upgrade to AT&T.
     
  13. Toby Goodbar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #14
    What text/data/internet plan from tmobile works w/iphone? Willa sidekick plan work? Blackberry? Or something else.....
     
  14. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #15
    I have an exploit that turns any DVD player into a Blue-ray player.

    Ahh boooooo
     
  15. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #16
    Silly companies making us BUY Blu-ray players when all we need is a software update for our DVD players.
     
  16. Opie macrumors 6502a

    Opie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #17
    Post the video and I still probably won't believe you but it will kill some time for me. Post the link here.
     
  17. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    It's the exact same video as a normal yellowsn0w unlock. He's saying to just do that and magically it will work.
     
  18. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #19
    iPhone= UTMS 3G/Quadband GSM
    Verizon/Alltel= CDMA != UTMS 3G/ Quadband GSM

    You're effectively telling us that we can upgrade our DVD players to play Blu-Ray discs with a software upgrade, or the original silver (2G) iPhone can upgrade to a new firmware to get 3G capabilities or even that we can upgrade the PowerPC G4 to an Intel Core 2 Duo with a software update.

    I'm sorry, but you are LYING.
    If it is true why don't you post a video showing the Verizon SIM card (sorry, does Verizon use SIM cards? The only CDMA carrier I've used is au by KDDI which uses R-UIM cards...) inside the iPhone 3G and showing the 'Network' and 'Carrier' entry in Settings showing 'Verizon', seeing as you can change the carrier string on the menu bar.
     
  19. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    Verizon has one phone for international travelers that uses a SIM card. The phone and SIM card do not work on U.S. networks.
     
  20. bobfitz14 macrumors 65816

    bobfitz14

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #21
    myabe if the OP wasn't a macrumors newbie and posted this thread the same day he joined this might have been more believable, even though it's clearly not.
     
  21. joethenoob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #22
    So is the issue here (1) whether or not the iphone will work on Verizon's network or (2) if verizon phones have sim cards that the iphone requires? My storm uses a sim card.
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #23
    Do you really need to ask?
     
  23. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #24
    Joe, the thread's over a year old, it's obviously old (fake)news
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page