Iphone 3G no service issue?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Macbrainwracked, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. Macbrainwracked macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #1
    Well I just received a used Iphone 3g from a friend. I went through the task of fixing the 1015 error and getting it functional, then installed cydia with Redsnow. But now the problem is the phone reads no service when entering the sim card. I have tried the airport mode trick, resetting the network settings etc with no luck. What am I doing wrong? I am on 4.2.1. Am I mistaken, is it even jailbroken? Can anybody help on this issues :confused:
     
  2. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #2
    1. which network is your sim belonging to?
    2. what is the baseband on your phone now? go to setting, general, about and look at the "Modem firmware".
     
  3. Macbrainwracked thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the reply! I just checked and the modem Firmware says 06.15.00, and my sim belongs to T-mobile.
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    1. Open Cydia, search for Ultrasn0w. install it.
    2. Go to setting, general, network, disable 3G.
    3. Reboot your phone and you will have service.
     
  5. Macbrainwracked thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #5
    Wow, that did the trick! Thank you a BUNCH crystal! I wracked my brain for a good while trying to figure out why it was not working! It has service and I am a happy camper :D
     
  6. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #6
    Enjoy your phone! :)
     
  7. cremartin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    #7
    NO!!! Service!!! 3G, 4.2.1, 16.05.00 --> T-mobile

    I got same problem....I got used 3G at&t phone 2 weeks ago. I did jailbreak and unlock 20 times maybe....I install some thing called SAM and SAMPREFs....nothing except that itunes showed my phone number. So now I'm after another jailbreak (Redsn0w 0.9.6rc12) and unlock. 3G is disable. reboot my phone 10 times already....nothing....no service %^%$#. I probably can't even resale it now....
     
  8. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #8
    Reflash the iPad baseband and reinstall ultrasn0w.
     
  9. cremartin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    #9

    Just quick question/few...Can I used same Ultrasn0w to reflash that I used to jailbreak 9.6.6rc12 and I can't find how to reflash 3g only 3GS...I guess I fallow 3gs(s) guide....should I? .......
     
  10. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #10
    You can use the same redsn0w to reflash iPad baseband as you use on 3GS. Then reinstall ultrasn0w 1.2.5 in Cydia to unlock it.
     
  11. cremartin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    #11
     
  12. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
  13. cremartin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    #13


    Yes I did.....:(
     
  14. cremartin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012

Share This Page