iPhone 3G on T-mo with 3.2.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by presence06, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. presence06 macrumors member

    presence06

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    H-Town
    #1
    I am really wanting to upgrade to the latest firmware for my iphone. I'm still running OS3, everything works and i haven't had any major issues.

    I'm just scared to update because i've been hearing about people having issues with Push and other things not working. Is it still an issue with the new baseband not allowing to unlock? Do I need a custom IPSW? or can I just restore/install latest via iTunes and run blackra1n to jB/Unlock?

    I'm sorry ( I know theres probably other posts about this) i'm just nervous about upgrading because i need my phone daily and i don't need a brick lol.

    I've been reading guides to unlock/jb on iClarafied and it seems pretty straight forward.

    so if its just that easy i will do it, but i don't want to brick my phone or be without push.. I have an old ATT sim card will this work while "activating" my phone?
     
  2. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #2
    If you are on 3.0 unlocked, and you have a Mac, use Pwnage, there are fewer wifi issues I think.

    You must not update to standard 3.1.2 or you will update the baseband and Pwnage will no longer work. (However, you could resort to BlackRa1n if that should accidentally happen :) )

    Here's the right tutorial to follow:
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4254

    You'll need Ultrasn0w for the unlock, and you'll need to turn off 3G on your phone (I'm assuming you mean T-Mo USA).
     
  3. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #3
    I second the recommendation of PwnageTool. It's a great jailbreak, and I've heard of far fewer issues with phones jailbroken using PT and unlocked using ultrasn0w than I have with phones jailbroken with blackra1n and unlocked with blacksn0w. This is especially true for 3G phones, which seem to have many issues with blackra1n.

    I'm on BB 5.11.07, and I still chose to jailbreak with PT and just unlock with blacksn0w.
     
  4. presence06 thread starter macrumors member

    presence06

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    H-Town
    #4
    This is what i did.. (probably wrong but it worked)

    Plugged phone into macbook, downloaded/backedup/installed new firmware via itunes.

    Rebooted, used Blackra1n, loaded app and installed Cydia, installed "Rain" app. afterwards showed "T-mobile" and full signal. Wifi works, push works, mms, messaging, phone.

    I DID not restore the phone ( pretty sure you are supposed to) but it seems to work just fine this way.
     
  5. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #5
    When you installed the new firmware thru iTunes (official Apple IPSW) that is what a restore is, so you did restore and that is why Blackra1n worked for you.
     
  6. presence06 thread starter macrumors member

    presence06

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    H-Town
    #6
    My bad.. this is only my second time JB/Unlocking.

    the last time I did a restore, reinstalled apps through iTunes and lost all my stuff. This was way smoother.

    thanks for the info, I knew it backed up the phone but I didn't know it restored it too.

    thanks again.
     

Share This Page