iPhone 3g on T-Mobile ...how to disable data? ONLY use WIFI

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by swamanator, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. swamanator macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #1
    I just got tmobile on my 3g and everything is working fine.

    i just had one concern...

    i do not want any data charges/unwanted data charges so i wanted to know what i have to do to completely disable 3g/edge.

    I only want to use data on WIFI. no accidental data use on tmobile network.

    i know i can get that $10 data plan from tmobile and tweak with settings...but i will do that later...

    for now just wifi...NO DATA AT ALL.

    i would appreciate if someone could tell me how to go about checking/setting up that i have disabled all settings for data ..and that i am only using wifi.


    Thanks
     
  2. Imsuperjp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #2
    Unless you have the Pay per MB feature on your line, you don't have to worry. If you are still paranoid, leave the apn fields blank
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    If you're on 4.0 go to settings/general/network/ and turn off Cellular Data.
    If you're on previous firmware go to unlockit.co.nz on your iphones safari browser and install the fake apn profile that blocks all carrier data.
     
  4. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #4
    I thought there was a toggle in SBSettings that did that too, no?
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Yes, thats also an option.
    The data toggle thru sbsettings.
     
  6. swamanator thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
  7. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
    #7
    If u don't have a data plan, u can't use the EDGE network.
     
  8. lakshi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #8
    Try setting fake apn with www.unlockit.co.nz....
    Good luck, thats what i did and works for me
     
  9. grantwatson06 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #9
    T-mobile introducing new iPhone data charges?

    I just got off the phone with a t-mobile rep and his manager. Both stated that T-mobile has changed their software and can now see and WILL CHARGE you for data accessed from ANY wifi spot, whether you have a data plan with them or not. I asked 20 different ways to clarify the question and each time they said the same thing, "regardless of where the data comes from, you will be charged 1.99 per megabyte." Has anybody seen this or know a way around it? The information is newer than these posts, so I'm not sure if any of the apn hacks would work. This will affect a lot of people, and hopefully, T-mobile.
     
  10. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #10
    What software are they talking about?
    I don't think they could ever know you're using wifi somewhere if you don't have any data connection to the cell network.

    How would your phone transmit that info? It's not possible without covert texting or dialing up, which we know the iPhone won't do.
     
  11. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #11
    FUD. They cannot charge you for a service they are not providing and they have no way of knowing you are using wifi unless you use one of their hotspots. They are perfectly entitled to charge you for using their T-Mobile hotspots.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    That's pure bs.
     
  13. sv123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #13
    Help!!!

    I have same issue. It's a bunch of Bull...Tmobile Need help to turn off data. I have unlocked iphone 3g- FW 3.0
     

Share This Page