iPhone 3G owners: Do you have 3G in your area?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TheSpaz, Nov 19, 2008.

?

Do you have 3G in your area?

  1. Yes

    49 vote(s)
    81.7%
  2. No

    11 vote(s)
    18.3%
  1. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #1
    Simple question.

    I have an iPhone 3G ONLY because I KNEW they were working on bringing 3G to my area... otherwise, I would have stayed with the original iPhone. 3G should be working in my area within a couple of weeks and I am really excited... I'm so excited that I hate to even see that "E" icon in my status bar every time I look at my iPhone. I'm just waiting for the moment I see the 3G status and I will jump up and down like a freak. Anyways, I've never used 3G on an iPhone or ANY phone for that matter... so it should be interesting.

    So right now, my answer is no... I do not have 3G and it makes me kinda sad. At least if I had 3G and wanted to shut it off, I'd feel better than just having no choice at all.

    Sorry about the other thread... I meant to make this a poll.
     
  2. Eric Isaacson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #2
    I posted this to the other thread but I guess I'll add it here also.

    I have 3G about 2 miles from my home, and since I have WiFi at home that doesn't bother me. I pick it up quickly when I leave home so that is good news.
     
  3. ryanwarsaw macrumors 68000

    ryanwarsaw

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #3
    Yes, my area has 3g coverage. However my iPhone never ever gets a 3g signal like other phones do. So I voted yes but it is a bit decieving as it can't be used anywhere near here with an iPhone but the coverage is definitely there.
     
  4. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
  5. Oskee2001 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #5
    Chicago. 3G everywhere....speeds have only recently begun to dramatically improve, so that's nice.
     
  6. Chaz668 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #6
    We are very close (about 10 miles away) to having 3G coverage in my area. It's just really slow to get here.
     
  7. TSX macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    I don't have 3g in my area. Is there any way I can find out if 3g is coming anytime soon?
     
  8. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #8
    Call AT&T.
     
  9. The Governor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    #9
    Why are you unable to pick up 3g reception? Are other 3g enabled phones able to pick up the 3g service?
     
  10. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #10
    I had a strange problem this evening. I live on the strand in Coronado and as the fog rolled in, I lost 3G reception. As it transitioned to EDGE, I dropped the call and went to No Service. First time that this has happened. Reset the phone and it seemed to fix it. I am wondering if the fog has anything to do with reception. :confused:
     
  11. billyripkin macrumors 6502

    billyripkin

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #11
    I agree, although in the northwest suburbs like Crystal Lake 3G has yet to arrive.
     
  12. VforVelveta macrumors regular

    VforVelveta

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    #12
    AT&T actually just turned on the 3G this morning. We were supposed to get it about a month and a half ago but it got delayed due to the flooding. I was pretty excited to see the little 3G icon mostly because I know a few people that are getting Storms next week and now they can't poke fun at the slow as molasses EDGE network. :p

    But yeah, its nice. I've been running speed tests a lot today and the highest I've hit was 1.33 Mbps. I guess twice as fast was a conservative estimate in my case. :D
     
  13. iMetalG5 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    #13
    yes 3G at my house. earlier this year there was NO 3G so it was just put in when the iPhone was released.

    A lot of the areas that did not have 3G this year now have it. so its expanding in my area.
     
  14. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #14
    Same here. 3G Coverage ends about 10 miles away. Bummer...

    [​IMG]
     
  15. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #15
    Yep. We have 3G here in St. Louis. Pretty decent too, I rarely see the phone on EDGE
     
  16. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #16
    pfft I barely have AT&T service anywhere. Especially at school and at home, but once I'm outside with no tall buildings around me, or I'm up in a tree then I have full bars of 3G.

    I'm really considering switching to T-Mobile or back to Verizon.
     
  17. Bobioden macrumors 68000

    Bobioden

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
  18. wadejc85 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #18
    Like others, I didn't have 3G when it first came out. Now I have a steady 4-5 bars of 3G. I'm happy. :D
     
  19. Hardcoredan52 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #19
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    I have 3G nearly everywhere I go here in Plant City(A little town outside Tampa). Started getting 3G at the hospital I work at about a month ago. Not only did I get 3G but the 3G signal is stronger than the edge signal ... Funny..
     
  20. bassproguy07 macrumors 6502a

    bassproguy07

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    #20
    where I live, No. few miles away and at my school yes
     
  21. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    In the UK I get no 3G where I live (no edge either)
    When I am at work I get full 5 bars 3G
     
  22. ajohnson253 macrumors 68000

    ajohnson253

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
  23. Rayfire macrumors 68020

    Rayfire

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    PNW
  24. Nicholas.C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #24
    no 3g here, no edge (where i live, but edge is enabled)
     
  25. StingerT125 macrumors 6502a

    StingerT125

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Dutchess County New York
    #25
    Not yet, but is is slowly getting closer. Just to my south I have 3G coverage.
     

Share This Page