iPhone 3G S screen problems

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by bingy.wingy, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. bingy.wingy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #1
    every once in awhile like maybe every 15 minutes my new iPhone 3G S' screen will jsut stop responding to touch. ( ie cant slide screens or launch apps.) the phone isnt frozen because the home button still works.

    the fix im useing it to jsut press the sleep wake button and then turn it back on again and the fixes it but its still really annotying is anyone else haveing this problem?
     
  2. rKunda macrumors 65816

    rKunda

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
  3. bingy.wingy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
  4. UnbornApple macrumors regular

    UnbornApple

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #4
    You should go back into the ARS with that issue.

    They will swap the phone out for you but the Genius Bar is closed day and will re-open tomorrow.
     
  5. PezRadar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #5
    I'm having this issue too..

    Anyone else having this issue with the 3GS? Would be really curious too. It is driving me crazy.
     
  6. PezRadar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #6
    Do I need a reservation or can I just go in tomorrow?

    I bought mine at an AT&T store.. so not sure how this all works.

    Dang screen.. its really annoying :(
     
  7. bingy.wingy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #7
    has anyone tried restoreing their phone and see if that works? i cant right now cause i have no wifi and cant download the software update that take four million years.
     
  8. UnbornApple macrumors regular

    UnbornApple

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #8
    No you need to have an apt. with them to get in.
     
  9. AiralynRose macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #9
    You need to have an appointment with the genuis bar. you can schedule one online at apple.com and it doesnt matter if you bought from ATT, no difference.
     
  10. bingy.wingy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #10
    mine hasnt done it in like a hour and a half. so hopefully the bug widdleing its way the hell out of my phone but that next time this happens im going right ot apple to get it exchanged.
     
  11. UnbornApple macrumors regular

    UnbornApple

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #11
    Yah, that would be an option too.

    Just go back to the store and scream or something like that.
     
  12. lewiguez macrumors newbie

    lewiguez

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    #12
    Yep. I am having this problem too. Glad it's not just me!

    I tried restoring my phone and it didn't help anything out. I even tried downloading the 3.0 firmware, and creating a "new phone" in iTunes, but this didn't matter.

    Problem has been happening since I left the AT&T store (AT&T models affected?) at 8:00am the day of launch. It is pretty annoying.

    I've noticed that if you place your hand on the side of the phone right about the volume rocker is and squeeze, the phone will become responsive again. Possibly a bad connection somewhere?

    After a call with Applecare, they requested that I take the phone in to take a look at it because they haven't had reports of this problem yet. Hopefully all goes well!
     
  13. Az234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #13
    I have this problem too just going to return it asap.
     
  14. Az234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #14
    Change it for a new one now.
    Apple ran some tests and couldn't find any problems. My new one works perfectly with all the same apps so it was a hardware problem.

    Az
     
  15. lewiguez macrumors newbie

    lewiguez

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    #15
    I agree. Return it @ the Apple Store. Their diagnostic software cannot check unresponsive multi-touch screens, so you'll probably get a new one (although technically, they can't give you a new one unless they witness the problem, but with new hardware they're more lenient for failure testing). I just came back from the one near my house with a new iPhone to replace the one I just purchased. It took exactly 20 mins. and the "genius" was very nice.

    In fact, I'm typing this on my new phone right now with no stalls. It's definitely hardware failure (there is a certain percentage of failures of all new hardware, so this is normal).
     
  16. UnbornApple macrumors regular

    UnbornApple

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #16
    All that needs to be done is getting the phone swapped out from Apple.
     
  17. gadgetdad macrumors 6502a

    gadgetdad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    On my iPhone
    #17
    Same issue. But now I just found out there are no more 3GS's in Oregon so I will have to wait to exchange.
     
  18. gadgetdad macrumors 6502a

    gadgetdad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    On my iPhone
    #18
    Tried it and no, still the same issue.
     
  19. mocciat macrumors member

    mocciat

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #19
    I had this issue about every hour. I restore and used my backup and still had issues. I next tried to restore and not recover from backup but in essence set up new phone. After that it happened once and has not happened again in about 24 hours. Very strange. If it happens again I will exchange but just exchanged 3GS last week for a bad rocker switch so we will keep an eye on it and see what happens.

    Will keep you posted.
     
  20. mocciat macrumors member

    mocciat

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #20
    went to Apple store they replaced phone no questions asked. Another quality customer service experience. No more freeze ups
     
  21. firebirdswm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #21
    Same problem here. A quick shake brings it back. Took it to the Apple Store where they disassembled it and checked the connections. They said it was fine and I should restore it to factory settings. They said if it happens again, come back and they'll swap it out. Sure enough, it's still doing it. I have noticed that the glass is slightly more recessed on the right side of the phone than the left. Not sure if that's got something to do with it or not. I'll be heading back to the store soon for a new one.
     
  22. gadgetdad macrumors 6502a

    gadgetdad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    On my iPhone
    #22
    Did that yesterday. Wasnt sure if it would freeze up for the Genius, but it did and was instantly replaced.
     

Share This Page