iPhone 3g + T-Mobile Questions

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by XDItsMe, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. XDItsMe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #1
    I'm pretty sorry for making this thread, I'm sure this community has seen it's fair share of phone carrier questions.

    Putting that disclaimer aside, I have questions about using an iPhone on T-Mobile.

    1. iPhone 3G can be unlocked and used on T-Mobile correct?
    2. There is no MMS support for all iphones correct?
    3. I have unlimited texting/MMS, but no data plan. Is a data plan needed to own an iPhone on T-Mobile? If not, will an iPhone send inadvertent fees?

    Again sorry for posting this question. I'm in the market for a refurb. iPhone so I'm asking.
     
  2. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #2


    1. search
    2. search
    3. search

    or

    1. yes
    2. If you are going to unlock it then it doesn't matter because there are apps that let you do MMS.
    3. yes if you want to use data other than wifi.
     
  3. XDItsMe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #3
    Well I don't plan on using much "data," so I won't add a data plan.
    but will the iPhone send inadvertant fees? I've searched but to no avail.
     
  4. Joepy97 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Location:
    RockyTop TN
    #4
    Tmo user here

    I am a iphone user on Tmobile and to my knowledge when you jailbreak ur iphone you wont be able to use data until you input an apn address under your carrier network settings under general settings. Unless the jailbreak software inputs it for you in which case you could go in and delete it.

    Also after checking to make sure those settings are blank you could to try to load a page in safari or use the weather app and you should get an error message saying unable to connect. You could then check with tmo just to make sure you didn't use any data, which you shouldn't have.
     
  5. kdawg macrumors regular

    kdawg

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    #5
    I have an iphone on tmobile. you need to change the carrier settings. (for which you have to unlock and jailbreak. You don't need any apps to do MMS.
     
  6. XDItsMe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #6
    Wait so, I'm still confused as to whether or not I'll be charged for data I don't use. (AKA, push data)
     
  7. Nine9si macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A400 Safari/528.16)

    No, data is not required in order to use an iphone on tmobile.

    MMS is supported for iphones on tmobile. No third party app needed. Just set the tmobile settings.

    Im on a 3g on tmobile.
     
  8. moiremusic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #8
  9. fabian9 macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #9
    No, you won't, if you don't use any data.

    However to make sure that you really don't use any data, you need to ensure that the apn settings in your iphone are blanked out. If you do put the T-Mobile apn settings in, the iPhone will send/receive data and you will get charged for it. By blanking them out you effectively stop the phone from sending/receiving data through the data network.

    Fabian
     
  10. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #10

Share This Page