iphone 3g tether - rogers support says yes!!??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hotshotharry, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. hotshotharry macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #1
    I just got off the phone with rogers support who assured me that the iphone will work as a tethered modem!

    Can anyone verify these claims? This is the only thing holding me back now!
     
  2. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #2
    Absolutely not. Until Apple adds this capability to the software side it is not possible (although there is a solution for those that have jailbroken their phones if I remember correctly).
     
  3. rust.puppet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    #3
    from what ive heared there is NO tethering support and "there will be no tethering support on the 3g in the future"

    but hey. i dont have the phone i merely read websites about it 24/7 untill i get mine.
     
  4. hotshotharry thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #4
    I know thats all i have read as well but they assured me twice lol !!! that it will most certainly work as a modem, however they advised against it because it would use a lot of data! lol

    I said i was ok with that! haha :)

    PS this is for canada - rogers
     
  5. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #5
    Actually they lied to you twice (though they probably don't realize that they did).
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Rogers is so full of crap. They just want you to buy their outlandishly priced data plan, find out there's no tethering, not be able to get rid of the plan, and go over on data use all the time.
     
  7. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #7
  8. hotshotharry thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #8
    lol i don't entirely believe them so now i'm on the phone with apple and i will report their side of the story lol
     
  9. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #9
    Their side of the story is no tethering. A widely published want with an even more widely published lack of care from Apple. Save yourself the phone call.
     
  10. hotshotharry thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #10
    Well you guys are right, apple support ensures me there is NO tethering and thats rogers support is seriously mistaken.

    Damn, so much for that ... :-(
     
  11. cyberone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    #11
    And there goes my iPhone wish ... Tethering would be essential. Apple must be joking.
     
  12. hotshotharry thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #12
    What phone doesn't have tethering ability?!!! Maybe a guy will just have to swap sim cards so he can tether, what a pain in the azz
     
  13. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #13
    Did you see my post above? :rolleyes:
     
  14. hotshotharry thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #14
    I did :) but i would like a more "accepted" way, meaning if i can just swap the sim card into a wireless card ...

    I called a guy at a rogers store and he said they can tell and they will cgarge you at a different rate! anyone have any experience with this?
     
  15. Flhusky macrumors 6502a

    Flhusky

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    You didn't read the numerous posts claiming that according to Rogers if you remove the sim card from the iPhone and place it in another phone you have to goto a Rogers store to have the iPhone sim 'tether unlocked'.
    ...and people say AT&T is screwing us;)
     
  16. urrl78 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #16
    In the US I am tethering my 3G iPhone thanks to this link:

    http://cre.ations.net/blog/post/how-to-tether-your-iphone-3g-and-browse-the-web-using-your-3g-co

    Jailbreak; yes, but I was hoping for this all along, and loved it on my iPod Touch, which I sold to get the iPhone 3g. It was a pretty easy process, in fact I am posting this thread on my Macbook Pro and there is nothing connected between it and my iPhone except Wi-Fi. This thing seems to be working faster than my Sprint Expresscard with EVDO but I am in the process of doing some speed testing. Look Ma, no wires!
    I'm not using Leopard like the previous poster; I use 10.4.11

    ...will get back later.
     
  17. equlizer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #17
    How would rogers know you are tethering in the first place? Just dont go all out and download pron and movies:cool:
     
  18. Evev12 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #18
    What ever happened to the "talks" AT&T and Apple were supposed to be having reg an official tethering option? It was posted on the Macrumors homepage last week. As everything is with the iPhone though it was probably just that, a rumor.
     
  19. milani macrumors 68000

    milani

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #19
    Just to clarify, we are allowed to tether, and that's what the tech support people at Rogers told you. It was probably unclear to you, but they likely weren't talking about the ability or inability of your phone to tether, but rather if your plan allowed you to tether, which at this time it does not (unless you Jailbreak).

    Apple really needs to step up and readmit NetShare to the App Store; just because AT&T does not allow tethering, does not mean that other countries ought to be subject to the same limitations by way of blocked software.
     
  20. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #20
    FWIW, O2 in the UK don't permit tethering with any phone on a bundle: For phones that support it you face getting charged the full per MB charge if you tether, even if you have a web bundle. They don't sell a bundle that will let you tether (they used to do the Web Max bundle for this but don't any more) - if you want tethering you are expected to get a mobile broadband USB modem and package.
    I know this because I have had lengthy discussions about it for another phone, including with the Executive Office and they simply do not allow it: I offered to pay the £20 per month that Mobile Broadband costs if they could add it to my phone SIM but they wouldn't even do that.
    The bottom line is anyone tethering on O2 (either with an iPhone or any other phone) is taking a big risk and could end up with a massive bill...
     
  21. goosnarrggh macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #21
    They were probably both right.

    From Rogers' perspective, what they probably meant was, under the specific data contract you've signed up for, tethering is not a prohibited activity. (Rogers' 6GB for $30 data plan is not actually iPhone-specific, but rather is equally available for use with any smartphone.) If you happen to find a way to make the tethering happen with whatever phone happens to be using your SIM card at any given time, Rogers will not penalize you for doing it, and the data will be accounted exactly the same as any other data usage under the contract.

    Contrast this with other service providers (such as AT&T) which technically disallow any form of tethering under the iPhone's special data plans. It may or may not be difficult for AT&T to detect that you were tethering, but if they do, then you'll be penalized.

    From Apple's perspective, what they probably meant was, the iPhone software in its unaltered state doesn't currently offer any supported way to establish a tethered data connection.
     
  22. slicecom macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #22
    Rogers allows tethering with all their data plans, iPhone included. How you tether is up to you as if you missed the Netshare app, there's no way for you to do it without jailbreaking.
     
  23. ginguar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #23
    However before getting the iphone i did it all the time with my old phone and my other half still does it and i know tones of others who do too.
     

Share This Page