iPhone 3g unlock help! - "No sim card installed"

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by fsikdernyc, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. fsikdernyc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys, I've had this 16gb iphone 3g and I've jailbroken it but the unlocking is giving me some problems. After I install blacksn0w and let it run, the top left shows the bars completely low, then proceeeds to "Searching...", then "No Service", followed by "No sim card installed". I've tried this method both with the sim in and without and the same thing keeps happening.

    FWIW, it's 3.1.2 and 05.11.07. I'm trying to unlock it for use for Tmobile.

    Any ideas what I can do?
     
  2. mreddys10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
  3. phrint macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    +1. Make sure the 3G is off. If it is, then reset your network settings. Try popping your SIM in another phone to make sure it works.
     
  4. fsikdernyc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #4
    Yep, 3G is off and I've reset network settings a few times and it still gives me this error.

    My SIM works fine on my current blackberry but when I pop it in the iPhone, it won't recognize it.
     
  5. Mochi&Cylon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #5
    When and where did you buy it? The new operating system that comes on the iphone (Apple software on the phone) can not be broken yet. You should activate it with ATT on a month to month contract.

    Also text/pic messaging wont work correctly on an iphone on tmobile.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Where do you get this?:rolleyes:
    All that you posted is false.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Try installing blacksnow RC2 thru cydia to see if it fixes the issues.
     
  8. fsikdernyc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #8
    I've had this iPhone since last summer. I had the same problem unlocking it back then so I just got a BB in the mean time. Now that's dying so I thought I could make another attempt at this :D

    I tried RC2 and it's giving me the same problems. I got really excited for a second because after I restarted the iPhone, it went on "Searching..." which it didn't do before, but then again "No Sim Card Installed" :|

    Bah. There's also a red dot on the phone icon when this happens too.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Interesting.
    Maybe try restoring it to official 3.1.2 and then re-jailbreak and try the unlock again.
     
  10. fsikdernyc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #10
    Sorry to sound like an idiot, but how would I restore to 3.1.2? When I try to do it through iTunes, it tells me it will install to 3.1.3.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    You can download any version of official firmware from here: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=750
    And then once you downloaded it on your PC you hold the shift button down and click restore in itunes.
    Then it will let you browse and select the firmware you want.
    On macs its option+restore.
     
  12. fsikdernyc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #12
    Still the same thing unfortunately. I've tried unlocking with both sn0w from the springboard as well as through Cydia, both RC1 and RC2.

    No SIM Card Installed. WTFFFFFFFF
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Very weird.
    And your baseband is 05.11.07 ?
     
  14. fsikdernyc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #14
    Yes, correct.

    Version: 3.1.2 (7D11)
    Firmware: 05.11.07
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    Make sure there isnt alot of dust or lint collected in your simcard slot.
    Does it read any other sims?
     
  16. desipunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #16
    I have the same problem

    Please let me know if or how you sorted this out. I have been struggeling for the past few days with a 3G 05.11.07 3.1.2 phone. restored jailbroken restored unlcoked and so on and so on.....no joy.

    any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

    i bought a 3G locked to Orange network in UK and want to use it on T-mobile. Other sims have wprked albeit randomly but T-mobile refuses to be recognised.

    Help help help before i go totallay insane.....thanks:mad:
     

Share This Page