iPhone 3G unlocking help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jimmy83, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. jimmy83 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #1
    A work collegue has been given an iPhone 3G on 4.2.1 06.15.00. Is there anyway he can unlock it to use any sim?

    Thanks all :)

    UK based btw.
     
  2. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
  3. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #3
  4. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #4
    Right thanks mate, the 3G was already jb. Got Cydia running fine. Tried ultrasn0w 1.2.4 loads of times tries reboots airplane mode etc. but I still can't get it working.

    What I understand is that 06.15.00 is the current iPad baseband. The odd thing is the 3G data connection is working ok.
     
  5. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
  6. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #6
    That is good. Download Tiny Umbrella, run it and hit "exit recovery". Your phone will boot up normally to activation screen.
     
  7. jimmy83, Nov 3, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011

    jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #7
    Ive not tried that yet, I tried using a method off youtube. Using a custom firmware and redsn0w. Everything worked ok, but once I had completed Iam still not getting a signal and ive tried various SIM cards.

    Will try what you suggested, cheers

    Followed this guide http://www.youtube.com/all_comments?v=lKkront2s_0
     
  8. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #8
    Just tried that, and once I kick-out of recovery mode iPhone reboots and then just displays the useb cable and the iTunes logo :(
     
  9. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK

Share This Page