iPhone 3g using vodafone for browsing even when on my wifi network

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by OZMP, Jul 17, 2008.

  1. OZMP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #1
    Hey all,
    I was under the assumption that the iPhone would use my wifi network for safari, mail, maps etc when within range, but it still uses my carrier :(
    any ideas?

    Cheers,
     
  2. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    wi-fi is on? in the settings --> wi-fi section?
    you have selected a wi-fi network? entered the password if rqd?
     
  3. OZMP thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #3
    all done
     
  4. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    well something is not right. your inital assumptoin was correct.

    the iphone should choose (for data) wifi --> 3g --> edge/gsm

    do you get the wi-fi logo in your menu bar?

    [​IMG]
     
  5. OZMP thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
  6. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    and you know for a fact that the wi-fi is set up correctly? you can use another device to get onto the internet? if thats a yes too, then

    have you done a restore of the iphone? maybe worth a shot.

    (i can walk in to work/home and it automatically picks up the wi-fi there, and starts using it, i dont ever have to change anything - so your situation isn't normal!)
     
  7. OZMP thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #7
    done all of the above, in the driveway i get the icon.
    i only used the iphone for browsing while it had wifi and vodafone said it used 100mb of my data quota, just did some browsing, now checking it again
    i also put the phone in airplane mode with wifi on and it was working for web services...
     
  8. vandozza macrumors 6502a

    vandozza

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    100mb? thats a fair bit...

    i've been hammering my optus 3g data, and the iphone reports i've sent/received 50meg since monday. granted i have wi-fi at home/work.

    have you tried a restore? or maybe this is an issue with voda not reporting the usage correctly?

    i'm sorry i can't really help more than that suggestion, as i said, my experience with the iphone and wi-fi has been great so far :confused:
     
  9. OZMP thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #9
    yeh, did a restore day i got it to update the firmware, still pretty laggy tho :(

    seems to be using wifi properly since i put it in airplane mode, but still laggy when i use sms, contacts or the phone bit... the dashboard-esque part of the phone is fine LOL
     

Share This Page