Iphone 3G without data plan

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jordanwade33, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. jordanwade33 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone tried to purchase the iPhone 3G without a data plan? If so, were you able to? I want an iPhone but not a data plan b/c Ill use wifi. I think my best bet is to get a used 1st gen iPhone off ebay.
     
  2. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #2
    Search... it's a nice feature. ;)

    Short answer, NO.
    You cannot buy the phone without a data plan.
     
  3. jordanwade33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #3
    ok... but has anyone actually tried it and been rejected?
     
  4. mynameismatt89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    #4
    ...yes it is possible, I'm on my dataless iPhone right now. I'm in Canada on the fido network.
     
  5. pdechavez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #5
    Im on a fido network too but i have the 1st gen iphone...can i update to 2.0 without getting bricked? thanks man!
     
  6. Sweetbike40 macrumors 65816

    Sweetbike40

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    #6
    I went into AT&T the other night and asked. He told me no. He said because you can't turn 3G off. Which as i write this, is BS. There is a setting to turn it off. He said with the old phone you could cancel the data, with the new one you have to have the data. I got it anyway.... maybe that will change at some point. Also, if 3G sucks, and i've experienced slowness on my other 3G phone through them, i'll give them hell and say i won't pay $30 for a slow service.
     
  7. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #7
    Sounds like ********. There is a menu option to turn 3g off right in the settings!

    I think he probably told you something else and you're remembering wrong.
     
  8. Sweetbike40 macrumors 65816

    Sweetbike40

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    #8
    I'm pretty sure that is what he said. I asked if i could turn off the 3G on the phone. He made it sound like there wasn't a setting for it.
     
  9. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #9
    [​IMG]

    Can't argue with a fact. That's a weird question to ask, who cares if you can turn off 3g? Its still data, whether its going over edge or 3g.
     
  10. Sweetbike40 macrumors 65816

    Sweetbike40

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    #10
    I realized today that there is a setting for it. He must have meant you can't turn off data? I don't know. He made it sound as if the 3G version of the phone is different than the 2G as far as a setting. I think they just don't want you to cancel the plan so they say anything.
     
  11. imapfsr macrumors regular

    imapfsr

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria, B.C.
    #11
    Im on Rogers in Canada and no Data plan. Yipee.
     
  12. Sweetbike40 macrumors 65816

    Sweetbike40

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    #12
    Did you get the phone discounted?
     
  13. imapfsr macrumors regular

    imapfsr

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria, B.C.
    #13
    It was $450 and I was already on a $20/month grandfathered voice plan through my work.
     
  14. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #14
    Has anyone successfully done this with AT&T? I want to get my wife an iPhone, but she doesn't need the data (we can just use WiFi). I've heard rumors that you can cancel the data shortly after buying an iPhone, but I'm wondering if anyone has actually done it yet here in the States.
     

Share This Page