Iphone 3g2.2 activation and jailbreak help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by usm2561, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. usm2561 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #1
    Hi i just recently aquired an apple iphone 3g 8gb and it is not activated or jaibroken. I want to be able to use it on my ATT network without signing a new contract. I have tried several jail break programs winpwn and qickpwn. winpwn just crashes when i enter DFU mode, and quickpwn when i get to the second step and i get a error, i have attached a picture with the error message. I have looked but i havent found any soultions. I am very new to apple and the iphone so i could use some help.
    Thanks
     
  2. usm2561 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #2
    here is the picture
     

    Attached Files:

  3. enophi1 macrumors 6502a

    enophi1

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3

    That's because you are using Quickpwn 2.2 on firmware 2.1 and that's not going to work.

    Just perform a restore again and re pwn.

    To use Quickpwn 2.2 you need to update your firmware to 2.2 via itunes then run Quickpwn.

    If you want your phone unlocked in the future don't bother updating to 2.2 firmware via itunes because this will flash the baseband resulting in being unable to unlock it.

    If unlock is important to you go here


    http://www.iphonefire.net/?page_id=11

    Scroll down and get "The Pwnage Tool" for your OS - If you are using Windows , I think there is Winpwn available for 2.2 check the site above for that.

    If unlocking doesn't bother you , update via itunes and download Quickpwn 2.2 from the site I linked above (I used their files and had no problems)


    I don't know much about activating on the iphone as I am pretty new to this too. So before unlocking I would wait until someone more qualified can answer this.
     
  4. usm2561 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #4
    Ok the jailbreak worked but the phone will not read my sim card, i get the error that there is no sim instaled but i do have it in the phone. Did i do something wrong or is it my card?
     
  5. Bear Hunter macrumors 6502a

    Bear Hunter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    #5
    You need to be on 2.1 not 2.2 if your trying to use anything other than ATT sim
     
  6. usm2561 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #6
    I have an ATT 3g sim card the blue and white one, and i am trying to use it on an ATT network.
     
  7. iphoneuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #7
    Hey mate I'll be getting my iphone 3G in 2 days and am very excited - been reading lots on forums but have no idea what baseband means. I'll be a kosher 3G o2 contract. If it's 2.2 does that mean when my 18months is up I'll not be able to unlock the thing to maybe use with another provider? or is it likely it'll be unlockable by then? (Sorry I don't mean to be hijacking the thread!):confused:
     
  8. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #8
    Jailbreaking will not unlock your phone.

    The reason you were told not to use Quickpwn if you want to unlock your phone is because it updates the baseband (cell chip firmware) which, so far, is not unlock-able (it hasn't been cracked).

    He told you to use Pwnage instead because it allows you to jailbreak without updating the baseband.
     
  9. iphoneuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #9

    Oh gosh does that mean if you use Quickpwn you won't ever be able to un-JB, apply a new firmware (say, 2.3 one day) and JB that? Does it mean there will be no way of unlocking it even if a cracked and unlockable version comes out?
     
  10. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #10
    It just means the likelihood of you being able to unlock the phone is greatly reduced. This is all, otherwise you can restore / re-jailbreak / upgrade and jailbreak again and so on... To my knowledge, there is no way to downgrade the baseband, or in other words go back once you have upgraded to 2.2
     
  11. iphoneuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #11

    Wow ok thanks....

    but surely it'll only be a matter of time until someone figures out one of the following:

    - how to downgrade the baseband
    - how to software-unlock the 2.2 baseband for use with other networks/carriers

    Is it not always a matter of time with these things? Surely the Dev Team's warning against upgrading to 2.2 and losing the ability to ever unlock the 3G is a tad over-cautious?
     
  12. iphoneuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #12
    Apologies to usm - not trying to hijack your thread.

    I'd be interested to know if/how your issue gets resolved too.
     
  13. Ligibella macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    #13
    If it got updated to 2.2, how do you unlock it? What do you search for in itunes for the firmware?
     

Share This Page