iPhone 3GS 3.0 jailbroken, want to restore.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by junkmeh, Sep 29, 2009.

  1. junkmeh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
    #1
    I have a 3GS, jailbroken with my ECIDs on file via Cydia. I want to restore because for whatever reason, last night my phone decided to not want to open the camera app/photos app and it has been going on all without any solution but to do a restore.

    As a result of Apple's verification process, what do I need to do inorder for me to rejailbreak to 3.0 (or well 3.0.1) too I guess? I don't want to go to 3.1 as I want to remain jailbroken and want to have the ability to unlock.

    Do I need to simply change that hosts file in the etc folder so that the phone will verify my ECID from the Cydia server? I;m just afraid iTunes won't let me restore to anything but 3.1 and I don't want to update my baseband.

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. bruinsrme macrumors 603

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #2
    I was about to post the exact same question. I am totally confused on this.
     
  3. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #3
    Saurik has some details on his site:
    http://www.saurik.com/id/12

    It seems to involve the editing of your hosts file, yes. :)
     
  4. ignus graius macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #5
    From the link:
    Unless you have your 3.0 hashes stored on Saurik's server, DO NOT ATTEMPT TO RESTORE to 3.0... it won't work, and you'll either have to upgrade to 3.1 or be without a phone until 3.1 is jailbroken.
     
  5. bruinsrme macrumors 603

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #6
    OP mentioned his # were on cydia.
    They should be good to go.
     
  6. FastangV6 macrumors regular

    FastangV6

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #7
    Doesn't it depend which ECID's are on file? Like if his 3.1 ECID is on file, but his 3.0 and 3.0.1 ECID's are not, then he is stuck with what he has or 3.1, right?
     
  7. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #8
    I believe the ECID is firmware specific. Therefore if you have the 3.0 ECID on file then that will only work with the 3.0 firmware and not the 3.0.1 or 3.1 firmware.
     
  8. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #9
    Settings -> General -> Reset -> Reset all data and settings.

    Don't even mess with restoring through iTunes, unless you're one of the 50,000 people that got their 3.0 ECID SHSHs on file with Cydia during the "window" (just before and after 3.1 was released) then you won't be able to do it. Adding stuff to your hosts file won't help, you'll only get yourself to 3.1.
     
  9. bruinsrme macrumors 603

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #10
    Form the quick read it looks like you downgrade to 3.0 anyway. I wish I had a back up 3Gs to play with this.

    from the bigbosswebsite
     
  10. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #11
    This is for the chosen few. If the OP is not one of the 50,000 people who got their 3.0 ECID SHSH files on, then when he tries to restore, it will fail, and it will have to install 3.1.

    DO NOT DO ANYTHING LIKE THAT. JUST RESET BY GOING TO SETTINGS>GENERAL>RESET
     
  11. bruinsrme macrumors 603

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #12
    yes but the OP stated he was one of the lucky ones. I hope I am too
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page