Iphone 3gs 3.1.3 to 4.x.x unlock/jailbreak question

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jkim229, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. jkim229 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #1
    Hi guys,

    So I finally succumbed to the conclusion that ios4 seems pretty neat with all its new features. I've been curious before about upgrading but I stuck with 3.1.3...
    So the thing is, my 3gs is jailbroken/unlocked for tmobile.

    I've been reading up on some of the threads and it seems that 4.0.1 seems to be the place to be at. Or is a newer version better?

    I'm curious as to how I do this?
    My version is 3.1.3(7E18)
    My firmware is 05.12.01

    In cydia it says on the top SHSH: iOS 3.1.2, 3.1.3, 4.0, 4.0.1, 4.0.2

    It's possible right? To go from 3.1.3 to 4.0.1?

    How do I do this...like step by step? I don't have an AT&T sim card so I don't want to screw up and end up with no phone by the end of the day

    Thanks :)
     
  2. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #2
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    It doesnt matter if your got the old or new bootrom.
    Download the official 4.0.1 ipsw.
    Edit your hosts to redirect to cydias server.
    Restore to that 4.0.1 firmware thru itunes.
    Then use jailbreakme.com to JB and install ultrasnow to unlock it.
    Thats it.
    Its great that you have those SHSH's saved.
     
  4. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #4
    he doesn't have an AT&T sim and this phone in unlocked for t-mobile = activation problem

    + he will still need tinyumbrella to kick the device out of the recovery loop/
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    I see.
    He can get an old inactive ATT sim on ebay for $1-2 in order to activate it officially and have push, youtube and everything working fine.
    He will need tinyumbrella to kick the device yout of recovery after the restore.
    But activating it with an AT&T would be the best choice IMO.
     
  6. jkim229 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #6
    Awesome. So I'm gonna go visit the gf this weekend who has an att sim card so that problem is taken care of. I have the new bootrom I believe. Back when I was trying to jailbreak 3.1.3, new bootromers had to wait for someone to figure out how to jailbreak it.

    But what did you mean by edit your hosts?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Before you open up itunes and try to restore to 4.0.1 you gotta follow this tutorial below to redirect to cydias server when itunes checks to verify your firmware installation.
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7557
     
  8. jkim229 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #8
    Got it :)

    So I don't need to put my phone into dfu mode or anything right?

    From what I got from this...

    1. Use TinyUmbrella and save SHSH files to computer
    2. Redirect to cydia servers
    3. Get att sim card
    4. Download 4.0.1 and do the whole alt+restore thru itunes and pick 4.0.1
    5. Once that's done, kick it out of recovery using TSS/tinyumbrella
    6. Go to jailbreakme.com to jailbreak
    7. Download ultrasnow thru cydia
    8. Be happy :D

    Do i need to go thru dfu mode in any of this?

    Thanks for all the help. Complicated stuff this is...lol
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Nope, just hold shift or option and hit restore in iTunes. Select your ipsw and go on with the rest.
     
  10. jkim229 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #10
    Awesome! Thanks for all the help :)
     
  11. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #11
    Don't even bother manually redirecting the hosts file, idk why applejuice even suggests that. in tinyumbrella just click start tss server, it will take care of the host redirection for you.

    The link I posted covers it all, DFU is optional tho.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Before he can do it that way he will have to download his shshs from cydia to his computer then start TSS.
    You don't just hit start TSS server without downloading them first. He can manually edit them first also without going thru TU's TSS.
    But your right and I'm wrong if that makes you happy:)
     
  13. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #13
    He was already going to do that.


    2 is where the problem is and he would have had his SHSH after he did 1.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    He can do it either way and it will still work. There's more than one way to get it done and neither is wrong IMO.
    But you're right buddy:D
    Happy now?
     
  15. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #15
    So? You recommended him to do it the hard way even tho there is an easier to way:confused:
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    To you it's the hard way, I prefer and do it the other way.
    Is that ok with you?
     
  17. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #17
    No because this is just one of your many excuse when you are wrong 60% of the time :D
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    LMAO:D
    I thought I was only wrong 59% of the time.
    But according to my wife im 99% wrong unless I agree with her.
    Damn it, my ration is going down hill.
     
  19. Sheyar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #19
    Off Topic :No you are awesome.

    on topic: What version of itunes did you use? if anyone can help me with this thread please? http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1013564
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  21. Sheyar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #21
    Do I need to go into DFU mode?
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    No, you dont have to but with or without DFU it will still go.
     
  23. Sheyar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
  24. jkim229 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #24
    Ok...I'm back...

    I saved all the SHSH blobs from 3.1.3 all the way up to 4.1.0.

    I pressed start TSS server and I alt+restored and picked my downloaded 4.0.1 ipsw.

    it starts unpacking but then BAM! 3014 Error.

    Now what? Do I need to put in the ATT sim card before I start the TSS server? I mean that shouldn't matter right? I have itunes 9.1.1 but I think anything above itunes 9 should work...I'm so frustrated...

    Edit: Interesting I just updated itunes and it worked...
     

Share This Page