Iphone 3gs 32GB. BlackRaIn Icon not visible.[Resolved]

tbwin2009

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2010
9
0
Hi,

I am running into a weird behaviour. I have an iPhone 3GS 32GB.
Version: 3.1(7C144).
Modem Firmware: 05.11.07.

As per different threads I used BlackRaIn and performed the JailBreak Process. I was able to see GeoHot logo and I got a message saying, the jailbreak process will be done once its rebooted. After Rebooting, I don't see a BlackRaIn icon at all.

I ran this process again and same thing, I don't see BlackRaIn icon.

I didn't get any errors and everything went smooth.

Now in order for me to unlock, i wanted to install Snow but since I dont see the BlackRaIn icon I dont know how to proceed.

Did I perform the correct steps and did I use the correct software(BlackRaIn).

Appreciate if some one could shed some light for unlocking my device further.

Thanks.
 

tbwin2009

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2010
9
0
Try redsnow.
It will install cydia and from there you can install blacksnow to unlock.
Check the box that says already pwned.
Thanks for your reply
If possible could you please direct me to the correct download link for Redsnow for Windows.

Thanks.
 

tbwin2009

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2010
9
0
google.com > redsn0w > search :confused:

what has the world come to :(
Sorry. I didn't make myself too clear while asking the question.
What I meant was there are different version of RedSnow out there and I was not able to find one for 3gs with the firmware version 3.1 and baseband 5.11.07.

Is RedSnow 0.9.2 the right one for me to go ahead and use for my 3gs. Please do let me know. Thanks.
 

luvu01

macrumors regular
Mar 7, 2010
104
0
Sorry. I didn't make myself too clear while asking the question.
What I meant was there are different version of RedSnow out there and I was not able to find one for 3gs with the firmware version 3.1 and baseband 5.11.07.

Is RedSnow 0.9.2 the right one for me to go ahead and use for my 3gs. Please do let me know. Thanks.
it is
 

tbwin2009

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2010
9
0
Had Another question related while using RedSnow.
1) I have got the ipsw for 3.1 (3gS).
2) Do I have to be on any particular version of iTunes?.
Also at what step do I see (Already pwned) option when I use redSnow.

Sorry for asking such questions, I wanted to make sure I dont screw up things so its always better to get things clarified before performing these events.

Thanks.
 

tbwin2009

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2010
9
0
You won't need to use iTunes at all. Don't try to restore it.
Once you run redsnow you will see the screen with the options you can check.

Okay. I downloaded RedSnow 0.9.2 and download the 3gs 3.1 ipsw.

I ran the RedSnow.exe and then it asked me to browse to the 3.1 ipsw file. I browsed to this ipsw file and then it says "Unable to recognise the specified ipsw." I thought the ipsw might be wrong and i downloaded it again and still I get the same error. I tried it like 2 more times and I always get the same error.

Could you please let me know.

Thanks
 

tbwin2009

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2010
9
0
Okay. I downloaded RedSnow 0.9.2 and download the 3gs 3.1 ipsw.

I ran the RedSnow.exe and then it asked me to browse to the 3.1 ipsw file. I browsed to this ipsw file and then it says "Unable to recognise the specified ipsw." I thought the ipsw might be wrong and i downloaded it again and still I get the same error. I tried it like 2 more times and I always get the same error.

Could you please let me know.

Thanks
After going through threads I tried something different. instead of the 3.1 ipsw firmware, I took 3.0 firware for 3GS and started going the redSnow process. Evrerything goes well and then I see "Downloading jailbreak data.." on my iphone sitting forever. I rebooted the Iphone and its back to the same state it was before. Nothing is screwed so far so I am good but
please let me know what I do to jailbreak and get cydia installed for unlock.
Could some expertise shed some light here?.
Thanks
 

titans1127

macrumors 6502a
Mar 10, 2009
924
118
As far as I know for the 3GS, I think redsn0w only works on 3.0, 3.0.1(using the 3.0 firmware file) and 3.1.2. There was no jailbreak for 3.1 unless you were going from a pwned 3.0 or 3.0.1 to a custom 3.1. I might be wrong so correct me if I am.
 

tbwin2009

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2010
9
0
As far as I know for the 3GS, I think redsn0w only works on 3.0, 3.0.1(using the 3.0 firmware file) and 3.1.2. There was no jailbreak for 3.1 unless you were going from a pwned 3.0 or 3.0.1 to a custom 3.1. I might be wrong so correct me if I am.

So does this mean I can't jailbreak?
Please let me know if there is any other alternative. I want to unlock it badly.
 

ste1164

macrumors 6502a
Jan 4, 2009
732
3
You could update to 3.1.2 and run redsn0w this does not update your baseband. I think blackra1n was made for 3.1.2 not 3.1 (i could be wrong).
 

tbwin2009

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2010
9
0
You could update to 3.1.2 and run redsn0w this does not update your baseband. I think blackra1n was made for 3.1.2 not 3.1 (i could be wrong).

Well as apple has stopped signing 3.1.2. How should I go ahead with update to 3.1.2 as I will be badly stuck with 3.1.3.
I dont have my hashes stored on cydia as this is out of the box 3.1 3gs with 5.11.07.

I am using windows XP box.
Please let me know.
 

tbwin2009

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2010
9
0
After doing more reading through different forums, I was finally able to jailbreak and unlock my iPhone 3gs 3.1 with 5.11.07 .

I downloaded the custom firware for 3.1.2 ipsw made by Pwange tool, update my iTunes to latest version and restored the firmware by selecting this custom firmware in iTunes.[This is very very important step in using Custom Firware].

After jailbreak, i installed blackrain by adding it to Cydia source and was able to run blacksnow and I am all set.


Thanks
 

topsugg

macrumors newbie
Aug 20, 2010
1
0
As per different threads I used BlackRaIn and performed the JailBreak Process. I was able to see GeoHot logo and I got a message saying, the jailbreak process will be done once its rebooted. After Rebooting, I don't see a BlackRaIn icon at all.

I ran this process again and same thing, I don't see BlackRaIn icon.

I didn't get any errors and everything went smooth.

Now in order for me to unlock, i wanted to install Snow but since I dont see the BlackRaIn icon I dont know how to proceed.
 

moussekateer

macrumors 6502a
May 12, 2009
733
0
As per different threads I used BlackRaIn and performed the JailBreak Process. I was able to see GeoHot logo and I got a message saying, the jailbreak process will be done once its rebooted. After Rebooting, I don't see a BlackRaIn icon at all.

I ran this process again and same thing, I don't see BlackRaIn icon.

I didn't get any errors and everything went smooth.

Now in order for me to unlock, i wanted to install Snow but since I dont see the BlackRaIn icon I dont know how to proceed.
Blackra1n was pretty buggy. Why not just use jailbreakme.com?
 

mors001

macrumors newbie
Dec 14, 2010
1
0
I am running into a weird behaviour. I have an iPhone 3GS 32GB.
Version: 3.1(7C144).
Modem Firmware: 05.11.07.
Try redsnow.
It will install cydia and from there you can install blacksnow to unlock.
Check the box that says already pwned.