Iphone 3gs 32GB. BlackRaIn Icon not visible.[Resolved]

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by tbwin2009, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. tbwin2009 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I am running into a weird behaviour. I have an iPhone 3GS 32GB.
    Version: 3.1(7C144).
    Modem Firmware: 05.11.07.

    As per different threads I used BlackRaIn and performed the JailBreak Process. I was able to see GeoHot logo and I got a message saying, the jailbreak process will be done once its rebooted. After Rebooting, I don't see a BlackRaIn icon at all.

    I ran this process again and same thing, I don't see BlackRaIn icon.

    I didn't get any errors and everything went smooth.

    Now in order for me to unlock, i wanted to install Snow but since I dont see the BlackRaIn icon I dont know how to proceed.

    Did I perform the correct steps and did I use the correct software(BlackRaIn).

    Appreciate if some one could shed some light for unlocking my device further.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Try redsnow.
    It will install cydia and from there you can install blacksnow to unlock.
    Check the box that says already pwned.
     
  3. tbwin2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for your reply
    If possible could you please direct me to the correct download link for Redsnow for Windows.

    Thanks.
     
  4. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #4
    google.com > redsn0w > search :confused:

    what has the world come to :(
     
  5. tbwin2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #5
    Sorry. I didn't make myself too clear while asking the question.
    What I meant was there are different version of RedSnow out there and I was not able to find one for 3gs with the firmware version 3.1 and baseband 5.11.07.

    Is RedSnow 0.9.2 the right one for me to go ahead and use for my 3gs. Please do let me know. Thanks.
     
  6. luvu01 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #6
    it is
     
  7. tbwin2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #8
    Had Another question related while using RedSnow.
    1) I have got the ipsw for 3.1 (3gS).
    2) Do I have to be on any particular version of iTunes?.
    Also at what step do I see (Already pwned) option when I use redSnow.

    Sorry for asking such questions, I wanted to make sure I dont screw up things so its always better to get things clarified before performing these events.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    You won't need to use iTunes at all. Don't try to restore it.
    Once you run redsnow you will see the screen with the options you can check.
     
  9. tbwin2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #10

    Okay. I downloaded RedSnow 0.9.2 and download the 3gs 3.1 ipsw.

    I ran the RedSnow.exe and then it asked me to browse to the 3.1 ipsw file. I browsed to this ipsw file and then it says "Unable to recognise the specified ipsw." I thought the ipsw might be wrong and i downloaded it again and still I get the same error. I tried it like 2 more times and I always get the same error.

    Could you please let me know.

    Thanks
     
  10. tbwin2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #11
    After going through threads I tried something different. instead of the 3.1 ipsw firmware, I took 3.0 firware for 3GS and started going the redSnow process. Evrerything goes well and then I see "Downloading jailbreak data.." on my iphone sitting forever. I rebooted the Iphone and its back to the same state it was before. Nothing is screwed so far so I am good but
    please let me know what I do to jailbreak and get cydia installed for unlock.
    Could some expertise shed some light here?.
    Thanks
     
  11. titans1127 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #12
    As far as I know for the 3GS, I think redsn0w only works on 3.0, 3.0.1(using the 3.0 firmware file) and 3.1.2. There was no jailbreak for 3.1 unless you were going from a pwned 3.0 or 3.0.1 to a custom 3.1. I might be wrong so correct me if I am.
     
  12. tbwin2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #13

    So does this mean I can't jailbreak?
    Please let me know if there is any other alternative. I want to unlock it badly.
     
  13. ste1164 macrumors 6502a

    ste1164

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #14
    You could update to 3.1.2 and run redsn0w this does not update your baseband. I think blackra1n was made for 3.1.2 not 3.1 (i could be wrong).
     
  14. tbwin2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #15

    Well as apple has stopped signing 3.1.2. How should I go ahead with update to 3.1.2 as I will be badly stuck with 3.1.3.
    I dont have my hashes stored on cydia as this is out of the box 3.1 3gs with 5.11.07.

    I am using windows XP box.
    Please let me know.
     
  15. tbwin2009 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #16
    After doing more reading through different forums, I was finally able to jailbreak and unlock my iPhone 3gs 3.1 with 5.11.07 .

    I downloaded the custom firware for 3.1.2 ipsw made by Pwange tool, update my iTunes to latest version and restored the firmware by selecting this custom firmware in iTunes.[This is very very important step in using Custom Firware].

    After jailbreak, i installed blackrain by adding it to Cydia source and was able to run blacksnow and I am all set.


    Thanks
     
  16. topsugg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #17
    As per different threads I used BlackRaIn and performed the JailBreak Process. I was able to see GeoHot logo and I got a message saying, the jailbreak process will be done once its rebooted. After Rebooting, I don't see a BlackRaIn icon at all.

    I ran this process again and same thing, I don't see BlackRaIn icon.

    I didn't get any errors and everything went smooth.

    Now in order for me to unlock, i wanted to install Snow but since I dont see the BlackRaIn icon I dont know how to proceed.
     
  17. moussekateer macrumors 6502a

    moussekateer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #18
    Blackra1n was pretty buggy. Why not just use jailbreakme.com?
     
  18. jason221 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
  19. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Yep, figures a newbie responds to a 4 month old thread:D
     
  20. mors001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    #21
    I am running into a weird behaviour. I have an iPhone 3GS 32GB.
    Version: 3.1(7C144).
    Modem Firmware: 05.11.07.
    Try redsnow.
    It will install cydia and from there you can install blacksnow to unlock.
    Check the box that says already pwned.
     
  21. xh246796 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    #22
    You can look at specific solutions Pandora Colored Glaze Bead-046

    Not really understand, you can look at specific solutions Pandora Colored Glaze Bead-046!
     

Share This Page