iPhone Iphone 3gs can't update from ios 5.0.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by weikhai, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. weikhai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #1
    Hi, I've been trying to update my iphone 3gs which is currently ios 5.0.1 to 5.1.1 or 6.0.1 but it fails all the time. I keep getting error 3914, which will change to error 16xx after I use TU. I tried changing to my desktop and the same errors appear. My phone is jailbroken, of course and I just want to update it for compatibility of certain apps. Changing the hosts file didn't work for me as well. Any advice? =/
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    You need 5.1.1 or 6.0.1 SHSH blobs in order to update to either of them. Use tinyumbrella or redsn0w to check if you have 5.1.1 SHSH blobs. Use iFaith to check if you have complete 6.0.1 SHSH blobs
     
  3. weikhai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #3
    Hi, thanks for replying. Uhm, I have never updated to those ios before, so is it even possible for me to even have those SHSH blobs?
     
  4. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
    Yes, as cydia saves the automatically, although the blobs for 6.0-6.1.2 will be invalid on Cydia.

    Check what you have with redsn0w or TU, without yhem no restore to those
     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    And to add to the above, cydia helps you auto cache whatever SHSH blobs it can grab each time you open it (I think)
     
  6. weikhai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #6
    I've checked with TU the SHSH blobs that I have, and yes I do have the blobs for 5.1.1 which i'm currently trying to update to. It still gives me error 16xx. :/
     
  7. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #7
    Make sure your host files point to apple

    Use sn0wbreeze to,make a custom ipsw and restiore with that in DFU mode
     
  8. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #8
    You need to stitch the blob to the ipsw

    If you're using iTunes, make sure it's 11.0.5; if that doesn't work, try 11.0

    Using iTunes, you would put it in pwned DFU mode and shift + click restore and choose the custom ipsw
     
  9. weikhai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #9
    Alright, I managed to restore it with everyones help. Thanks :D
     

Share This Page